lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Sep]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [RFC 0/4] perf: Per PMU access controls (paranoid setting)
From
Date

Hi,

Is there any plans or may be even progress on that so far?

Thanks,
Alexey

On 26.06.2018 18:36, Tvrtko Ursulin wrote:
> From: Tvrtko Ursulin <tvrtko.ursulin@intel.com>
>
> For situations where sysadmins might want to allow different level of
> access control for different PMUs, we start creating per-PMU
> perf_event_paranoid controls in sysfs.
>
> These work in equivalent fashion as the existing perf_event_paranoid
> sysctl, which now becomes the parent control for each PMU.
>
> On PMU registration the global/parent value will be inherited by each PMU,
> as it will be propagated to all registered PMUs when the sysctl is
> updated.
>
> At any later point individual PMU access controls, located in
> <sysfs>/device/<pmu-name>/perf_event_paranoid, can be adjusted to achieve
> fine grained access control.
>
> Discussion from previous posting:
> https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/5/21/156
>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
> Cc: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
> Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
> Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
> Cc: Madhavan Srinivasan <maddy@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: x86@kernel.org
>
> Tvrtko Ursulin (4):
> perf: Move some access checks later in perf_event_open
> perf: Pass pmu pointer to perf_paranoid_* helpers
> perf: Allow per PMU access control
> perf Documentation: Document the per PMU perf_event_paranoid interface
>
> .../sysfs-bus-event_source-devices-events | 14 +++
> arch/powerpc/perf/core-book3s.c | 2 +-
> arch/x86/events/intel/bts.c | 2 +-
> arch/x86/events/intel/core.c | 2 +-
> arch/x86/events/intel/p4.c | 2 +-
> include/linux/perf_event.h | 18 ++-
> kernel/events/core.c | 104 +++++++++++++++---
> kernel/sysctl.c | 4 +-
> kernel/trace/trace_event_perf.c | 6 +-
> 9 files changed, 123 insertions(+), 31 deletions(-)
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-09-12 08:54    [W:0.143 / U:2.380 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site