lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Aug]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v4 14/16] sched/core: uclamp: request CAP_SYS_ADMIN by default
Date
The number of clamp groups supported is limited and defined at compile
time. However, a malicious user can currently ask for many different
clamp values thus consuming all the available clamp groups.

Since on properly configured systems we expect only a limited set of
different clamp values, the previous problem can be mitigated by
allowing access to clamp groups configuration only to privileged tasks.
This should still allow a System Management Software to properly
pre-configure the system.

Let's restrict the tuning of utilization clamp values, by default, to
tasks with CAP_SYS_ADMIN capabilities.

Whenever this should be considered too restrictive and/or not required
for a specific platforms, a kernel boot option is provided to change
this default behavior thus allowing non privileged tasks to change their
utilization clamp values.

Signed-off-by: Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@arm.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
Cc: Suren Baghdasaryan <surenb@google.com>
Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@google.com>
Cc: Joel Fernandes <joelaf@google.com>
Cc: Steve Muckle <smuckle@google.com>
Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>
Cc: Quentin Perret <quentin.perret@arm.com>
Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
Cc: Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@arm.com>
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org

---
Changes in v4:
Others:
- new patch added in this version
- rebased on v4.19-rc1
---
.../admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt | 3 +++
kernel/sched/core.c | 22 ++++++++++++++++---
2 files changed, 22 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt b/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
index 9871e649ffef..481f8214ea9a 100644
--- a/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
+++ b/Documentation/admin-guide/kernel-parameters.txt
@@ -4561,6 +4561,9 @@
<port#>,<js1>,<js2>,<js3>,<js4>,<js5>,<js6>,<js7>
See also Documentation/input/devices/joystick-parport.rst

+ uclamp_user [KNL] Enable task-specific utilization clamping tuning
+ also from tasks without CAP_SYS_ADMIN capability.
+
udbg-immortal [PPC] When debugging early kernel crashes that
happen after console_init() and before a proper
console driver takes over, this boot options might
diff --git a/kernel/sched/core.c b/kernel/sched/core.c
index 222397edb8a7..8341ce580a9a 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/core.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/core.c
@@ -1510,14 +1510,29 @@ static inline int alloc_uclamp_sched_group(struct task_group *tg,
static inline void free_uclamp_sched_group(struct task_group *tg) { }
#endif /* CONFIG_UCLAMP_TASK_GROUP */

+static bool uclamp_user_allowed __read_mostly;
+static int __init uclamp_user_allow(char *str)
+{
+ uclamp_user_allowed = true;
+
+ return 0;
+}
+early_param("uclamp_user", uclamp_user_allow);
+
static inline int __setscheduler_uclamp(struct task_struct *p,
- const struct sched_attr *attr)
+ const struct sched_attr *attr,
+ bool user)
{
int group_id[UCLAMP_CNT] = { UCLAMP_NOT_VALID };
int lower_bound, upper_bound;
struct uclamp_se *uc_se;
int result = 0;

+ if (!capable(CAP_SYS_ADMIN) &&
+ user && !uclamp_user_allowed) {
+ return -EPERM;
+ }
+
mutex_lock(&uclamp_mutex);

/* Find a valid group_id for each required clamp value */
@@ -1702,7 +1717,8 @@ static inline int alloc_uclamp_sched_group(struct task_group *tg,
return 1;
}
static inline int __setscheduler_uclamp(struct task_struct *p,
- const struct sched_attr *attr)
+ const struct sched_attr *attr,
+ bool user)
{
return -EINVAL;
}
@@ -5217,7 +5233,7 @@ static int __sched_setscheduler(struct task_struct *p,

/* Configure utilization clamps for the task */
if (attr->sched_flags & SCHED_FLAG_UTIL_CLAMP) {
- retval = __setscheduler_uclamp(p, attr);
+ retval = __setscheduler_uclamp(p, attr, user);
if (retval)
return retval;
}
--
2.18.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-08-28 15:56    [W:0.332 / U:25.572 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site