lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jul]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [[LINUX PATCH v10] 4/4] mtd: rawnand: pl353: Add basic driver for arm pl353 smc nand interface
Date
Hi Linus,

> -----Original Message-----
> From: Linus Walleij [mailto:linus.walleij@linaro.org]
> Sent: Monday, July 2, 2018 7:18 PM
> To: Naga Sureshkumar Relli <nagasure@xilinx.com>
> Cc: Boris Brezillon <boris.brezillon@bootlin.com>; Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>;
> David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>; Brian Norris
> <computersforpeace@gmail.com>; Mark Vasut <marek.vasut@gmail.com>; Florian Fainelli
> <f.fainelli@gmail.com>; Markus Mayer <mmayer@broadcom.com>; Roger Quadros
> <rogerq@ti.com>; Ladislav Michl <ladis@linux-mips.org>; ada@thorsis.com;
> honghui.zhang@mediatek.com; Miquèl Raynal <miquel.raynal@bootlin.com>; linux-
> mtd@lists.infradead.org; linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org; nagasureshkumarrelli@gmail.com;
> Michal Simek <michals@xilinx.com>
> Subject: Re: [[LINUX PATCH v10] 4/4] mtd: rawnand: pl353: Add basic driver for arm
> pl353 smc nand interface
>
> On Fri, Jun 29, 2018 at 6:15 AM Naga Sureshkumar Relli <nagasure@xilinx.com> wrote:
> > > On Thu, Jun 28, 2018 at 2:13 PM Naga Sureshkumar Relli <nagasure@xilinx.com>
> wrote:
> > >
> > >
> > > > > This driver has the same problem as the other patches:
> > > > > use the ARM_AMBA primecell magic numbers detection, and the PrimeCell bus.
> > > >
> > > > Here the child is NAND controller and the parent is PL353 SMC, so
> > > > do we need to update this also as AMBA driver?
> > >
> > > No, sorry. The parent is spawning another device and you should
> > > indeed use a platform device for that.
> > >
> > Ok, you mean platform driver model is sufficient for both pl353-smc.c and pl353_nand.c
> drivers?
> > Or AMBA model is for pl353-smc and platform driver model is for pl353-nand?
>
> The latter, AMBA primecell bus for pl353-smc and platform device for the nand subdevice.
>
> Platform device is for anything that cannot be autodetected with e.g.
> magic hardare numbers, and the first device can be autodetected as a prime cell but not the
> subdevice.
Thanks for your inputs, I already started updating this.
I will send v11.

Thanks,
Naga Sureshkumar Relli.
>
> Yours,
> Linus Walleij
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-07-03 06:20    [W:0.116 / U:3.156 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site