lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jul]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] lib/iov_iter: Fix pipe handling in _copy_to_iter_mcsafe
On Sun, Jul 01, 2018 at 08:52:20AM -0700, Dan Williams wrote:
> By mistake the ITER_PIPE early-exit / warning from copy_from_iter() was
> cargo-culted in _copy_to_iter_mcsafe() rather than a machine-check-safe
> version of copy_to_iter_pipe().
>
> Implement copy_pipe_to_iter_mcsafe() being careful to return the
> indication of short copies due to a CPU exception.
>
> Without this regression-fix all splice reads to dax-mode files fail.
>
> Fixes: 8780356ef630 ("x86/asm/memcpy_mcsafe: Define copy_to_iter_mcsafe()")
> Cc: Al Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
> Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
> Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
> Reported-by: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>
> Signed-off-by: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>

Tested-by: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-07-03 18:49    [W:0.096 / U:1.120 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site