lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jul]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 0/2] tools/memory-model: remove ACCESS_ONCE()
On Tue, Jul 03, 2018 at 12:12:41PM +0200, Andrea Parri wrote:
> > > 1) Merge the file touched by that patch into (the recently created):
> > >
> > > Documentation/atomic_t.txt
> > >
> > > (FWIW, queued in my TODO list).
> >
> > Some consolidation of documentation would be good. ;-)
> >
> > Thoughts from others?
> >
> > > 2) Add the entry:
> > >
> > > F: Documentation/atomic_t.txt
> > >
> > > to the "ATOMIC INFRASTRUCTURE" subsystem in the MAINTAINERS file so
> > > that developers can easily find (the intended?) reviewers for their
> > > patch. (Of course, this will need ACK from the ATOMIC people).
> >
> > If the merging will take awhile, it might also be good to put
> > Documentation/core-api/atomic_ops.rst somewhere as well.
>
> Indeed. And let's not forget the "orphaned":
>
> Documentation/atomic_bitops.txt
> Documentation/core-api/refcount-vs-atomic.rst

Lots of puppies to adopt, aren't there? ;-)

I could make the argument that these files are part of the documentation
for the Linux kernel's memory model, and that they should therefore be
added to the LKMM MAINTAINERS entry. Any objections? (Adding David
Miller in his capacity of author of atomic_ops.txt.)

Separately, it might be good to make sure that the linux-arch folks are
aware of proposed changes to the memory model. To that end, would it
make sense to add the linux-arch mailing list to that same entry?

Thanx, Paul

------------------------------------------------------------------------

commit 33a58ee5eadadfb1f4850eabd4fac332984881d5
Author: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Date: Tue Jul 3 08:48:09 2018 -0700

tools/memory-model: Add informal LKMM documentation to MAINTAINERS

The Linux-kernel memory model has been informal, with a number of
text files documenting it. It would be good to make sure that these
informal descriptions are kept up to date and/or pruned appropriately.
This commit therefore brings more of those text files into the LKMM
MAINTAINERS file entry.

Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Cc: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Jade Alglave <j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk>
Cc: Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@inria.fr>
Cc: Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@gmail.com>
Cc: Daniel Lustig <dlustig@nvidia.com>
Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>

diff --git a/MAINTAINERS b/MAINTAINERS
index f2903b818671..2ba947fc9a2f 100644
--- a/MAINTAINERS
+++ b/MAINTAINERS
@@ -8321,6 +8321,10 @@ L: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
S: Supported
T: git git://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/paulmck/linux-rcu.git
F: tools/memory-model/
+F: Documentation/atomic_bitops.txt
+F: Documentation/atomic_t.txt
+F: Documentation/core-api/atomic_ops.rst
+F: Documentation/core-api/refcount-vs-atomic.rst
F: Documentation/memory-barriers.txt

LINUX SECURITY MODULE (LSM) FRAMEWORK
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-07-03 17:51    [W:0.105 / U:2.540 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site