lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jul]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v2 2/2] spi: add SPI controller driver for UniPhier SoC
Date
Hello Andy,

> -----Original Message-----
> From: linux-kernel-owner@vger.kernel.org [mailto:linux-kernel-owner@vger.kernel.org] On Behalf Of Andy
> Shevchenko
> Sent: Thursday, July 26, 2018 10:44 PM
> To: Hayashibara, Keiji/林原 啓二 <hayashibara.keiji@socionext.com>
> Cc: Mark Brown <broonie@kernel.org>; Rob Herring <robh+dt@kernel.org>; Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>;
> Yamada, Masahiro/山田 真弘 <yamada.masahiro@socionext.com>; linux-spi <linux-spi@vger.kernel.org>; linux-arm
> Mailing List <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>; devicetree <devicetree@vger.kernel.org>; Masami Hiramatsu
> <masami.hiramatsu@linaro.org>; Jassi Brar <jaswinder.singh@linaro.org>; Linux Kernel Mailing List
> <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>; Hayashi, Kunihiko/林 邦彦 <hayashi.kunihiko@socionext.com>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 2/2] spi: add SPI controller driver for UniPhier SoC
>
> On Thu, Jul 26, 2018 at 12:38 PM, Keiji Hayashibara <hayashibara.keiji@socionext.com> wrote:
>
> >> > + /* check if requested speed is too small */
> >> > + if (ckrat > SSI_MAX_CLK_DIVIDER)
> >>
> >> > + return -EINVAL;
> >>
> >> So, does this critical?
> >
> > If set the value to SSI_MAX_CLK_DIVIDER, the clock frequency will be set high.
> > I don't change it to high frequency, and it is daringly an error.
> > On the other hand, when changing to low frequency, I will change it automatically.
>
> No. My point is, if somehow user asks for that condition to be happened you bail out, while when using clamp_val()
> you may continue to work at maximum limit, though issue warning to user, for example.

Thank you. I understood what you pointed out.
However, I found this code unnecessary as pointed out by Radu,
so I will delete it.

> >> > +
> >> > + if (ckrat < SSI_MIN_CLK_DIVIDER)
> >> > + ckrat = SSI_MIN_CLK_DIVIDER;
> >>
> >> clamp_val() / max() ?
> >
> > I will modify it to use max().
>
> See above.

This is also the same as above.

> --
> With Best Regards,
> Andy Shevchenko

-----------------
Best Regards,
Keiji Hayashibara


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-07-30 03:47    [W:0.055 / U:2.084 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site