lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jul]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:sched/core] sched/numa: Update the scan period without holding the numa_group lock
Commit-ID:  30619c89b17d46808b4cdf5b3f81b6a01ade1473
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/30619c89b17d46808b4cdf5b3f81b6a01ade1473
Author: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
AuthorDate: Wed, 20 Jun 2018 22:32:55 +0530
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Wed, 25 Jul 2018 11:41:08 +0200

sched/numa: Update the scan period without holding the numa_group lock

The metrics for updating scan periods are local or task specific.
Currently this update happens under the numa_group lock, which seems
unnecessary. Hence move this update outside the lock.

Running SPECjbb2005 on a 4 node machine and comparing bops/JVM
JVMS LAST_PATCH WITH_PATCH %CHANGE
16 25355.9 25645.4 1.141
1 72812 72142 -0.92

Signed-off-by: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Acked-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1529514181-9842-15-git-send-email-srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/sched/fair.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index 3bcf0e864613..fc33a4b40a09 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -2170,8 +2170,6 @@ static void task_numa_placement(struct task_struct *p)
}
}

- update_task_scan_period(p, fault_types[0], fault_types[1]);
-
if (p->numa_group) {
numa_group_count_active_nodes(p->numa_group);
spin_unlock_irq(group_lock);
@@ -2186,6 +2184,8 @@ static void task_numa_placement(struct task_struct *p)
if (task_node(p) != p->numa_preferred_nid)
numa_migrate_preferred(p);
}
+
+ update_task_scan_period(p, fault_types[0], fault_types[1]);
}

static inline int get_numa_group(struct numa_group *grp)
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-07-25 16:31    [W:0.290 / U:0.188 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site