lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jul]   [24]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCHv4 01/12] atomic/tty: Fix up atomic abuse in ldsem

* Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com> wrote:

> From: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
>
> Mark found ldsem_cmpxchg() needed an (atomic_long_t *) cast to keep
> working after making the atomic_long interface type safe.
>
> Needing casts is bad form, which made me look at the code. There are no
> ld_semaphore::count users outside of these functions so there is no
> reason why it can not be an atomic_long_t in the first place, obviating
> the need for this cast.
>
> That also ensures the loads use atomic_long_read(), which implies (at
> least) READ_ONCE() in order to guarantee single-copy-atomic loads.
>
> When using atomic_long_try_cmpxchg() the ldsem_cmpxchg() wrapper gets
> very thin (the only difference is not changing *old on success, which
> most callers don't seem to care about).
>
> So rework the whole thing to use atomic_long_t and its accessors
> directly.
>
> While there, fixup all the horrible comment styles.
>
> Cc: Peter Hurley <peter@hurleysoftware.com>
> Acked-by: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Reported-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Reviewed-by: Andy Shevchenko <andy.shevchenko@gmail.com>
> Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
> Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
> ---
> drivers/tty/tty_ldsem.c | 82 ++++++++++++++++++++---------------------------
> include/linux/tty_ldisc.h | 4 +--
> 2 files changed, 37 insertions(+), 49 deletions(-)
>
> Note: Greg has queued this via the in the tty tree for v4.19, which can be seen at:
>
> https://git.kernel.org/pub/scm/linux/kernel/git/gregkh/tty.git/commit/?h=tty-next&id=5fd691afdf929061c391d897fa627822c3b2fd5a

Can this patch be skipped, or do the others depend on it?

Thanks,

Ingo

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-07-24 09:15    [W:0.172 / U:1.140 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site