lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jul]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 154/157] x86/efi: Fix efi_call_phys_epilog() with CONFIG_X86_5LEVEL=y
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>

commit cfe19577047e74cdac5826adbdc2337d8437f8fb upstream.

Open-coded page table entry checks don't work correctly when we fold the
page table level at runtime.

pgd_present() on 4-level paging machine always returns true, but
open-coded version of the check may return false-negative result and
we silently skip the rest of the loop body in efi_call_phys_epilog().

Replace open-coded checks with proper helpers.

Signed-off-by: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Acked-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org # v4.12+
Fixes: 94133e46a0f5 ("x86/efi: Correct EFI identity mapping under 'efi=old_map' when KASLR is enabled")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180625120852.18300-1-kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c
+++ b/arch/x86/platform/efi/efi_64.c
@@ -166,14 +166,14 @@ void __init efi_call_phys_epilog(pgd_t *
pgd = pgd_offset_k(pgd_idx * PGDIR_SIZE);
set_pgd(pgd_offset_k(pgd_idx * PGDIR_SIZE), save_pgd[pgd_idx]);

- if (!(pgd_val(*pgd) & _PAGE_PRESENT))
+ if (!pgd_present(*pgd))
continue;

for (i = 0; i < PTRS_PER_P4D; i++) {
p4d = p4d_offset(pgd,
pgd_idx * PGDIR_SIZE + i * P4D_SIZE);

- if (!(p4d_val(*p4d) & _PAGE_PRESENT))
+ if (!p4d_present(*p4d))
continue;

pud = (pud_t *)p4d_page_vaddr(*p4d);

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-07-01 18:37    [W:0.515 / U:0.992 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site