lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jun]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH 06/23] x86/ioapic: Add support for IRQCHIP_CAN_DELIVER_AS_NMI with interrupt remapping
Date
Even though there is a delivery mode field at the entries of an IO APIC's
redirection table, the documentation of the majority of the IO APICs
explicitly states that interrupt delivery as non-maskable is not supported.
Thus,

However, when using an IO APIC in combination with the Intel VT-d interrupt
remapping functionality, the delivery of the interrupt to the CPU is
handled by the remapping hardware. In such a case, the interrupt can be
delivered as non maskable.

Thus, add the IRQCHIP_CAN_DELIVER_AS_NMI flag only when used in combination
with interrupt remapping.

Cc: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@intel.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Jacob Pan <jacob.jun.pan@intel.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
Cc: "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>
Cc: Dou Liyang <douly.fnst@cn.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Jan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@siemens.com>
Cc: "Ravi V. Shankar" <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Cc: iommu@lists.linux-foundation.org
Signed-off-by: Ricardo Neri <ricardo.neri-calderon@linux.intel.com>
---
arch/x86/kernel/apic/io_apic.c | 3 ++-
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/apic/io_apic.c b/arch/x86/kernel/apic/io_apic.c
index 10a20f8..39de91b 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/apic/io_apic.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/apic/io_apic.c
@@ -1911,7 +1911,8 @@ static struct irq_chip ioapic_ir_chip __read_mostly = {
.irq_eoi = ioapic_ir_ack_level,
.irq_set_affinity = ioapic_set_affinity,
.irq_retrigger = irq_chip_retrigger_hierarchy,
- .flags = IRQCHIP_SKIP_SET_WAKE,
+ .flags = IRQCHIP_SKIP_SET_WAKE |
+ IRQCHIP_CAN_DELIVER_AS_NMI,
};

static inline void init_IO_APIC_traps(void)
--
2.7.4
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-06-13 03:06    [W:0.226 / U:0.004 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site