lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [22]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCHv4 06/10] arm64: add basic pointer authentication support
From
Date
On 5/3/2018 9:20 AM, Mark Rutland wrote:
> This patch adds basic support for pointer authentication, allowing
> userspace to make use of APIAKey. The kernel maintains an APIAKey value
> for each process (shared by all threads within), which is initialised to
> a random value at exec() time.
>
> To describe that address authentication instructions are available, the
> ID_AA64ISAR0.{APA,API} fields are exposed to userspace. A new hwcap,
> APIA, is added to describe that the kernel manages APIAKey.
>
> Instructions using other keys (APIBKey, APDAKey, APDBKey) are disabled,
> and will behave as NOPs. These may be made use of in future patches.
>
> No support is added for the generic key (APGAKey), though this cannot be
> trapped or made to behave as a NOP. Its presence is not advertised with
> a hwcap.
>
> Signed-off-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Ramana Radhakrishnan <ramana.radhakrishnan@arm.com>
> Cc: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> ---


Mark, I was able to verify that a buffer overflow exploit results in a segfault
with these PAC patches. When I compile the same binary without
"-msign-return-address=none", I am able to successfully overflow the stack and
execute malicious code.

Thanks
Adam

Tested-by: Adam Wallis <awallis@codeaurora.org>


--
Adam Wallis
Qualcomm Datacenter Technologies as an affiliate of Qualcomm Technologies, Inc.
Qualcomm Technologies, Inc. is a member of the Code Aurora Forum,
a Linux Foundation Collaborative Project.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-22 21:09    [W:0.141 / U:5.176 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site