lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.14 37/95] tick/broadcast: Use for_each_cpu() specially on UP kernels
Date
4.14-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Dexuan Cui <decui@microsoft.com>

commit 5596fe34495cf0f645f417eb928ef224df3e3cb4 upstream.

for_each_cpu() unintuitively reports CPU0 as set independent of the actual
cpumask content on UP kernels. This causes an unexpected PIT interrupt
storm on a UP kernel running in an SMP virtual machine on Hyper-V, and as
a result, the virtual machine can suffer from a strange random delay of 1~20
minutes during boot-up, and sometimes it can hang forever.

Protect if by checking whether the cpumask is empty before entering the
for_each_cpu() loop.

[ tglx: Use !IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_SMP) instead of #ifdeffery ]

Signed-off-by: Dexuan Cui <decui@microsoft.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Josh Poulson <jopoulso@microsoft.com>
Cc: "Michael Kelley (EOSG)" <Michael.H.Kelley@microsoft.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: stable@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Rakib Mullick <rakib.mullick@gmail.com>
Cc: Jork Loeser <Jork.Loeser@microsoft.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: KY Srinivasan <kys@microsoft.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>
Cc: Dmitry Vyukov <dvyukov@google.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/KL1P15301MB000678289FE55BA365B3279ABF990@KL1P15301MB0006.APCP153.PROD.OUTLOOK.COM
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/KL1P15301MB0006FA63BC22BEB64902EAA0BF930@KL1P15301MB0006.APCP153.PROD.OUTLOOK.COM
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
kernel/time/tick-broadcast.c | 8 ++++++++
1 file changed, 8 insertions(+)

--- a/kernel/time/tick-broadcast.c
+++ b/kernel/time/tick-broadcast.c
@@ -612,6 +612,14 @@ static void tick_handle_oneshot_broadcas
now = ktime_get();
/* Find all expired events */
for_each_cpu(cpu, tick_broadcast_oneshot_mask) {
+ /*
+ * Required for !SMP because for_each_cpu() reports
+ * unconditionally CPU0 as set on UP kernels.
+ */
+ if (!IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_SMP) &&
+ cpumask_empty(tick_broadcast_oneshot_mask))
+ break;
+
td = &per_cpu(tick_cpu_device, cpu);
if (td->evtdev->next_event <= now) {
cpumask_set_cpu(cpu, tmpmask);

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-22 00:04    [W:0.325 / U:3.528 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site