lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:locking/core] tools/memory-model: Model 'smp_store_mb()'
Commit-ID:  bf8c6d963d16d40fbe70e94b61d9bf18c455fc6b
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/bf8c6d963d16d40fbe70e94b61d9bf18c455fc6b
Author: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 14 May 2018 16:33:45 -0700
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 15 May 2018 08:11:16 +0200

tools/memory-model: Model 'smp_store_mb()'

This commit models 'smp_store_mb(x, val);' to be semantically equivalent
to 'WRITE_ONCE(x, val); smp_mb();'.

Suggested-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Suggested-by: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: akiyks@gmail.com
Cc: boqun.feng@gmail.com
Cc: dhowells@redhat.com
Cc: j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Cc: luc.maranget@inria.fr
Cc: npiggin@gmail.com
Cc: parri.andrea@gmail.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1526340837-12222-7-git-send-email-paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.def | 1 +
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)

diff --git a/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.def b/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.def
index 397e4e67e8c8..acf86f6f360a 100644
--- a/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.def
+++ b/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.def
@@ -14,6 +14,7 @@ smp_store_release(X,V) { __store{release}(*X,V); }
smp_load_acquire(X) __load{acquire}(*X)
rcu_assign_pointer(X,V) { __store{release}(X,V); }
rcu_dereference(X) __load{once}(X)
+smp_store_mb(X,V) { __store{once}(X,V); __fence{mb}; }

// Fences
smp_mb() { __fence{mb} ; }
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-15 08:30    [W:0.146 / U:4.632 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site