lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:locking/core] tools/memory-order: Improve key for SELF and SV
Commit-ID:  35bb6ee6790600d29c598ebbf262359341f34e38
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/35bb6ee6790600d29c598ebbf262359341f34e38
Author: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 14 May 2018 16:33:43 -0700
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Tue, 15 May 2018 08:11:16 +0200

tools/memory-order: Improve key for SELF and SV

The key for "SELF" was missing completely and the key for "SV" was
a bit obtuse. This commit therefore adds a key for "SELF" and improves
the one for "SV".

Reported-by: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: akiyks@gmail.com
Cc: boqun.feng@gmail.com
Cc: dhowells@redhat.com
Cc: j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
Cc: luc.maranget@inria.fr
Cc: npiggin@gmail.com
Cc: parri.andrea@gmail.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1526340837-12222-5-git-send-email-paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
tools/memory-model/Documentation/cheatsheet.txt | 3 ++-
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/tools/memory-model/Documentation/cheatsheet.txt b/tools/memory-model/Documentation/cheatsheet.txt
index c0eafdaddfa4..46fe79afc737 100644
--- a/tools/memory-model/Documentation/cheatsheet.txt
+++ b/tools/memory-model/Documentation/cheatsheet.txt
@@ -26,4 +26,5 @@ Key: C: Ordering is cumulative
DR: Dependent read (address dependency)
DW: Dependent write (address, data, or control dependency)
RMW: Atomic read-modify-write operation
- SV Same-variable access
+ SELF: Orders self, as opposed to accesses before and/or after
+ SV: Orders later accesses to the same variable
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-15 08:30    [W:0.208 / U:0.480 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site