lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH -mm] mm, hugetlb: Pass fault address to no page handler
On Tue, May 15, 2018 at 08:57:56AM +0800, Huang, Ying wrote:
> From: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
>
> This is to take better advantage of huge page clearing
> optimization (c79b57e462b5d, "mm: hugetlb: clear target sub-page last
> when clearing huge page"). Which will clear to access sub-page last
> to avoid the cache lines of to access sub-page to be evicted when
> clearing other sub-pages. This needs to get the address of the
> sub-page to access, that is, the fault address inside of the huge
> page. So the hugetlb no page fault handler is changed to pass that
> information. This will benefit workloads which don't access the begin
> of the huge page after page fault.
>
> With this patch, the throughput increases ~28.1% in vm-scalability
> anon-w-seq test case with 88 processes on a 2 socket Xeon E5 2699 v4
> system (44 cores, 88 threads). The test case creates 88 processes,
> each process mmap a big anonymous memory area and writes to it from
> the end to the begin. For each process, other processes could be seen
> as other workload which generates heavy cache pressure. At the same
> time, the cache miss rate reduced from ~36.3% to ~25.6%, the
> IPC (instruction per cycle) increased from 0.3 to 0.37, and the time
> spent in user space is reduced ~19.3%
>
> Signed-off-by: "Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com>
> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
> Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
> Cc: Andi Kleen <andi.kleen@intel.com>
> Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
> Cc: Matthew Wilcox <mawilcox@microsoft.com>
> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
> Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
> Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@fb.com>
> Cc: Christopher Lameter <cl@linux.com>
> Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Punit Agrawal <punit.agrawal@arm.com>
> Cc: Anshuman Khandual <khandual@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> ---
> mm/hugetlb.c | 12 ++++++------
> 1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)
>
> diff --git a/mm/hugetlb.c b/mm/hugetlb.c
> index 129088710510..3de6326abf39 100644
> --- a/mm/hugetlb.c
> +++ b/mm/hugetlb.c
> @@ -3677,7 +3677,7 @@ int huge_add_to_page_cache(struct page *page, struct address_space *mapping,
>
> static int hugetlb_no_page(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
> struct address_space *mapping, pgoff_t idx,
> - unsigned long address, pte_t *ptep, unsigned int flags)
> + unsigned long faddress, pte_t *ptep, unsigned int flags)
> {
> struct hstate *h = hstate_vma(vma);
> int ret = VM_FAULT_SIGBUS;
> @@ -3686,6 +3686,7 @@ static int hugetlb_no_page(struct mm_struct *mm, struct vm_area_struct *vma,
> struct page *page;
> pte_t new_pte;
> spinlock_t *ptl;
> + unsigned long address = faddress & huge_page_mask(h);

faddress? I would rather keep it address and rename maked out variable to
'haddr'. We use 'haddr' for the cause in other places.

--
Kirill A. Shutemov

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-15 22:16    [W:0.085 / U:3.296 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site