lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
Subject[LTP] [ANNOUNCE] The Linux Test Project has been released for MAY 2018
Good news everyone,

the Linux Test Project test suite stable release for *May 2018* has been
released.

Since the last release 297 patches by 38 authors were merged.

NOTABLE CHANGES
===============

* New testcases:

- two inotify regression tests for:
764baba80168 ("ovl: hash non-dir by lower inode for fsnotify")
31747eda41ef ("ovl: hash directory inodes for fsnotify")

- sysclt01 a regression test for:
5ccba44ba118 ("sched/sysctl: Check user input value of sysctl_sched_time_avg")

- CVE regression tests for:
* CVE-2017-17053 - ccd5b3235180 ("x86/mm: Fix use-after-free of ldt_struct")
* CVE-2017-16939 - 1137b5e2529a ("ipsec: Fix aborted xfrm policy dump crash")
* CVE-2015-3290 - 9b6e6a8334d5 ("x86/nmi/64: Switch stacks on userspace NMI entry")
* CVE-2017-17052 - 2b7e8665b4ff ("fork: fix incorrect fput of ->exe_file causing use-after-free")
* CVE-2017-17807 - 4dca6ea1d943 ("KEYS: add missing permission check for request_key() destination")

- read_all

Test that aims to stress test /proc, /sys, and safe subset of /dev
filesystems by reading by reading each readable file using several
threads.

- The pwritev03 and preadv03 tests with O_DIRECT executed on all supported filesystems.
(https://github.com/linux-test-project/ltp/wiki/Test-Writing-Guidelines#2214-testing-with-a-block-device)

- Pids controller tests fixed a race that made them fail sporadically and
the the coverage was increased.

- pwrite03, write02

Write syscall tests for special case with NULL buffer and len 0
where the call is expected to return 0 i.e. success.

* Removed outdated and broken tests
- sssd daemon test
- mail command test
- ht_interrupt -- hyperthreading interrupt balancing test

* 54 testcases were cleaned up and converted to the new test library

* The syscalls testrun has been speeded up by about a minute which is 5% of the runtime.

* Several Android fixes have been applied.

* New macro for automatic retry with exponential backoff has been added to the
test library, which should replace all the ad-hoc retry loops we do have all
around the codebase.

* IMA (Integrity Measurement Architecture) tests
- Were rewritten to use new API, updated, and various bugs has been fixed.
- The most important changes:
* Avoid running on tmpfs ima_measurements.sh and ima_violations.sh
* ima_measurements.sh: support new IMA measurement templates, support testing
most of IMA supported hash algorithms, fix & update iversion check
* tpm.sh: replace ima_measure with evmctl (external)
* ima_policy.sh: improve check of policy writability
* ima_boot_aggregate: fixing event size for modern BIOS

Many thanks to Mimi Zohar for her review and testing of IMA test cases.

+ The usual number of fixes and cleanups all over the place

NETWORK TESTS
=============

Changelog for network tests brought to you by Peter Vorel.

* New testcases:
- for IP_BIND_ADDRESS_NO_PORT, DCCP and UDP ipsec and for UDPLITE protocol
- regression test sctp_big_chunk aka CVE-2018-5803
- netstress gained support for IP_BIND_ADDRESS_NO_PORT, SO_ZEROCOPY flags
and UDPLITE protocol
- Use libtirpc for all RPC tests

* Test cases rewritten into new shell API:
- interface and multicast tests cases
- in6_02

* Removed tests cases
- route{4,6}-ifdown

+ Various fixes and doc cleanups


TODO LIST AND ISSUE TRACKER
===========================

Just recently we started to maintain a LTP TODO list in the form GitHub issues,
so far there is very coarse list of missing, mostly syscall, coverage:

https://github.com/linux-test-project/ltp/labels/missing%20coverage

Which I suppose will expand quite a bit soon.

And also nearly empty list of reproducers:

https://github.com/linux-test-project/ltp/labels/reproducer

Which I'm about to feed with a list of CVE reproducers I have, that
can be converted into regression testcases.

Lastly but not least I would like to ask everyone to contribute to that list.

DOWNLOAD AND LINKS
==================

The latest version of the test-suite contains 3000+ tests for the Linux
and can be downloaded at:

https://github.com/linux-test-project/ltp/releases/tag/20180515

The project pages as well as GIT repository are hosted on GitHub:

https://github.com/linux-test-project/ltp
http://linux-test-project.github.io/

If you ever wondered how to write a LTP testcase, don't miss our developer
documentation at:

https://github.com/linux-test-project/ltp/wiki/C-Test-Case-Tutorial
https://github.com/linux-test-project/ltp/wiki/Test-Writing-Guidelines
https://github.com/linux-test-project/ltp/wiki/BuildSystem

Patches, new tests, bugs, comments or questions should go to to our mailing
list at ltp@lists.linux.it.

CREDITS
=======

Many thanks to the people contributing to this release:

git shortlog -s -e -n 20180118..
76 Petr Vorel <pvorel@suse.cz>
38 Cyril Hrubis <chrubis@suse.cz>
37 Michael Moese <mmoese@suse.de>
30 Alexey Kodanev <alexey.kodanev@oracle.com>
21 Xiao Yang <yangx.jy@cn.fujitsu.com>
12 yang xu <xuyang.jy@cn.fujitsu.com>
9 Yixin Zhang <yixin.zhang@intel.com>
7 Jinhui Huang <huangjh.jy@cn.fujitsu.com>
7 Richard Palethorpe <rpalethorpe@suse.com>
6 Jan Stancek <jstancek@redhat.com>
6 Li Wang <liwang@redhat.com>
5 Amir Goldstein <amir73il@gmail.com>
4 Carlo Marcelo Arenas Belon <carenas@gmail.com>
4 Stanislav Kholmanskikh <stanislav.kholmanskikh@oracle.com>
3 Petr Vorel <petr.vorel@gmail.com>
3 Steve Muckle <smuckle.linux@gmail.com>
2 Anders Roxell <anders.roxell@linaro.org>
2 Eric Biggers <ebiggers@google.com>
2 Khem Raj <raj.khem@gmail.com>
2 Sandeep Patil <sspatil@google.com>
2 Sebastian Chlad <schlad@suse.de>
2 xiao yang <yangx.jy@cn.fujitsu.com>
1 Christian Lanig <clanig@suse.com>
1 Dmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com>
1 Erick Reyes <erickreyes@google.com>
1 Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@google.com>
1 Harish <harish@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
1 Hoang Van Tuyen <tuyen.hoangvan@toshiba-tsdv.com>
1 Hridya Valsaraju <hridya@google.com>
1 Joe Konno <joe.konno@intel.com>
1 Lars Persson <larper@axis.com>
1 Lianwen Sun <sunlw.fnst@cn.fujitsu.com>
1 Pavel Boldin <pboldin@cloudlinux.com>
1 Qiao Zhao <qiaozqjhsy@gmail.com>
1 Xiong Zhou <xzhou@redhat.com>
1 Yang Pengfei <yangpengfei4@huawei.com>
1 akodanev <akodanev@gmail.com>
1 xie hui <xieh.jy@cn.fujitsu.com>
1 yosun <yosun@suse.com>

And also thanks to patch reviewers:

git log 20180118.. | grep -Ei '(reviewed|acked)-by:' | \
sed 's/.*by: //' | sort | uniq -c | sort -n -r
34 Cyril Hrubis <chrubis@suse.cz>
15 Petr Vorel <pvorel@suse.cz>
15 Alexey Kodanev <alexey.kodanev@oracle.com>
11 Jan Stancek <jstancek@redhat.com>
7 Richard Palethorpe <rpalethorpe@suse.de>
4 Li Wang <liwang@redhat.com>
3 Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
2 Petr Vorel <petr.vorel@gmail.com>
2 James Morris <james.l.morris@oracle.com>
1 yang xu <xuyang.jy@cn.fujitsu.com>
1 Xiao Yang <yangx.jy@cn.fujitsu.com>

--
Cyril Hrubis
chrubis@suse.cz

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-15 16:22    [W:0.049 / U:2.308 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site