lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH v7 2/6] srcu: Add notrace variants of srcu_read_{lock,unlock}
Date
From: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

This is needed for a future tracepoint patch that uses srcu, and to make
sure it doesn't call into lockdep.

tracepoint code already calls notrace variants for rcu_read_lock_sched
so this patch does the same for srcu which will be used in a later
patch. Keeps it consistent with rcu-sched.

[Joel: Added commit message]

Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Peter Zilstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Cc: Tom Zanussi <tom.zanussi@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Thomas Glexiner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
Cc: Masami Hiramatsu <mhiramat@kernel.org>
Cc: Fenguang Wu <fengguang.wu@intel.com>
Cc: Baohong Liu <baohong.liu@intel.com>
Cc: Vedang Patel <vedang.patel@intel.com>
Cc: kernel-team@android.com
Reviewed-by: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Signed-off-by: Paul McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Joel Fernandes (Google) <joel@joelfernandes.org>
---
include/linux/srcu.h | 17 +++++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 17 insertions(+)

diff --git a/include/linux/srcu.h b/include/linux/srcu.h
index 33c1c698df09..2ec618979b20 100644
--- a/include/linux/srcu.h
+++ b/include/linux/srcu.h
@@ -161,6 +161,16 @@ static inline int srcu_read_lock(struct srcu_struct *sp) __acquires(sp)
return retval;
}

+/* Used by tracing, cannot be traced and cannot invoke lockdep. */
+static inline notrace int
+srcu_read_lock_notrace(struct srcu_struct *sp) __acquires(sp)
+{
+ int retval;
+
+ retval = __srcu_read_lock(sp);
+ return retval;
+}
+
/**
* srcu_read_unlock - unregister a old reader from an SRCU-protected structure.
* @sp: srcu_struct in which to unregister the old reader.
@@ -175,6 +185,13 @@ static inline void srcu_read_unlock(struct srcu_struct *sp, int idx)
__srcu_read_unlock(sp, idx);
}

+/* Used by tracing, cannot be traced and cannot call lockdep. */
+static inline notrace void
+srcu_read_unlock_notrace(struct srcu_struct *sp, int idx) __releases(sp)
+{
+ __srcu_read_unlock(sp, idx);
+}
+
/**
* smp_mb__after_srcu_read_unlock - ensure full ordering after srcu_read_unlock
*
--
2.17.0.441.gb46fe60e1d-goog
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-16 00:47    [W:0.079 / U:1.500 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site