lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [May]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH memory-model 15/19] tools/memory-model: Remove out-of-date comments and code from lock.cat
Date
From: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>

lock.cat contains old comments and code referring to the possibility
of LKR events that are not part of an RMW pair. This is a holdover
from when I though we might end up using LKR events to implement
spin_is_locked(). Reword the comments to remove this assumption and
replace domain(lk-rmw) in the code with LKR.

Signed-off-by: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
CC: Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@gmail.com>
CC: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
CC: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
CC: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
CC: Jade Alglave <j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk>
CC: Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@inria.fr>
CC: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
CC: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
CC: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Tested-by: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
[ paulmck: Pulled "as lock-nest" into previous line as discussed. ]
---
tools/memory-model/lock.cat | 15 ++++++---------
1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 9 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/memory-model/lock.cat b/tools/memory-model/lock.cat
index 7217cd4941a4..cd002a33ca8a 100644
--- a/tools/memory-model/lock.cat
+++ b/tools/memory-model/lock.cat
@@ -47,18 +47,15 @@ flag ~empty [M \ IW] ; loc ; [ALL-LOCKS] as mixed-lock-accesses
let lk-rmw = ([LKR] ; po-loc ; [LKW]) \ (po ; po)
let rmw = rmw | lk-rmw

+(* The litmus test is invalid if an LKR/LKW event is not part of an RMW pair *)
+flag ~empty LKW \ range(lk-rmw) as unpaired-LKW
+flag ~empty LKR \ domain(lk-rmw) as unpaired-LKR
+
(*
- * A paired LKR must always see an unlocked value; spin_lock() calls nested
+ * An LKR must always see an unlocked value; spin_lock() calls nested
* inside a critical section (for the same lock) always deadlock.
*)
-empty ([LKW] ; po-loc ; [domain(lk-rmw)]) \ (po-loc ; [UL] ; po-loc)
- as lock-nest
-
-(* The litmus test is invalid if an LKW event is not part of an RMW pair *)
-flag ~empty LKW \ range(lk-rmw) as unpaired-LKW
-
-(* This will be allowed if we implement spin_is_locked() *)
-flag ~empty LKR \ domain(lk-rmw) as unpaired-LKR
+empty ([LKW] ; po-loc ; [LKR]) \ (po-loc ; [UL] ; po-loc) as lock-nest

(* The final value of a spinlock should not be tested *)
flag ~empty [FW] ; loc ; [ALL-LOCKS] as lock-final
--
2.5.2
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-05-15 01:34    [W:0.176 / U:8.828 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site