lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Apr]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v3 2/4] bus: fsl-mc: add restool userspace support
Date
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Andrew Lunn [mailto:andrew@lunn.ch]
> Sent: Thursday, April 5, 2018 6:24 PM
> To: Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@nxp.com>
> Cc: Stuart Yoder <stuyoder@gmail.com>; Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>;
> Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@nxp.com>; gregkh
> <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>; Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-
> kernel@vger.kernel.org>; Ruxandra Ioana Ciocoi Radulescu
> <ruxandra.radulescu@nxp.com>; Razvan Stefanescu
> <razvan.stefanescu@nxp.com>; Roy Pledge <roy.pledge@nxp.com>;
> Networking <netdev@vger.kernel.org>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH v3 2/4] bus: fsl-mc: add restool userspace support
>
> On Thu, Apr 05, 2018 at 02:43:29PM +0000, Laurentiu Tudor wrote:
> > Hi Andrew,
> >
> > On 04/05/2018 03:48 PM, Andrew Lunn wrote:
> > >>> Hi Laurentiu
> > >>>
> > >>> So i can use switchdev without it? I can modprobe the switchdev
> > >>> driver, all the physical interfaces will appear, and i can use ip addr
> > >>> add etc. I do not need to use a user space tool at all in order to use
> > >>> the network functionality?
> > >>
> > >> Absolutely!
> > >
> > > Great.
> > >
> > > Then the easiest way forwards is to simply drop the IOCTL code for the
> > > moment. Get the basic support for the hardware into the kernel
> > > first. Then come back later to look at dynamic behaviour which needs
> > > some form of configuration.
> >
> > Hmm, not sure I understand. We already have a fully functional ethernet
> > driver [1] and a switch driver [2] ...
>
> In staging, the tree of crap. You want to get it out of there and into
> the main tree. But that effort is being side lined by the discussion
> around this IOCTL call. The best way forward is to to accept Greg is
> not going to take this patchset at the moment, and move on. As you
> said, it is not needed for the Ethernet and switchdev driver.
>
> What needs to happen before the Ethernet driver can be reviewed for
> moving out of staging?

Hi Andrew,

We're waiting for the DPIO driver (which we depend on) to be moved
out of staging first, it's currently under review:
https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/3/27/1086

Ioana

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-04-05 17:36    [W:0.167 / U:1.192 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site