lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Apr]   [25]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 06/12] perf evsel: Disable write_backward for leader sampling group events
Date
From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>

.. and other related fields that do not need to be enabled
for events that have sampling leader.

It fixes the perf top usage Ingo reported broken:

# perf top -e '{cycles,msr/aperf/}:S'

The 'msr/aperf/' event is configured for write_back sampling, which is
not allowed by the MSR PMU, so it fails to create the event.

Adjusting related attr test.

Reported-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Tested-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Ahern <dsahern@gmail.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180423090823.32309-6-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
tools/perf/tests/attr/test-record-group-sampling | 3 +++
tools/perf/util/evsel.c | 7 +++++--
2 files changed, 8 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/tests/attr/test-record-group-sampling b/tools/perf/tests/attr/test-record-group-sampling
index f906b793196f..8a33ca4f9e1f 100644
--- a/tools/perf/tests/attr/test-record-group-sampling
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/attr/test-record-group-sampling
@@ -35,3 +35,6 @@ inherit=0
# sampling disabled
sample_freq=0
sample_period=0
+freq=0
+write_backward=0
+sample_id_all=0
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/evsel.c b/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
index 7eb1e9850abf..26bdeecc0452 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
@@ -930,8 +930,11 @@ void perf_evsel__config(struct perf_evsel *evsel, struct record_opts *opts,
* than leader in case leader 'leads' the sampling.
*/
if ((leader != evsel) && leader->sample_read) {
- attr->sample_freq = 0;
- attr->sample_period = 0;
+ attr->freq = 0;
+ attr->sample_freq = 0;
+ attr->sample_period = 0;
+ attr->write_backward = 0;
+ attr->sample_id_all = 0;
}

if (opts->no_samples)
--
2.14.3
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-04-25 18:03    [W:0.081 / U:3.024 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site