lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Apr]   [23]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 1/3] big key: get rid of stack array allocation
Date
We're interested in getting rid of all of the stack allocated arrays in the
kernel [1]. This patch simply hardcodes the iv length to match that of the
hardcoded cipher.

[1]: https://lkml.org/lkml/2018/3/7/621

v2: hardcode the length of the nonce to be the GCM AES IV length, and do a
sanity check in init(), Eric Biggers

Signed-off-by: Tycho Andersen <tycho@tycho.ws>
CC: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
CC: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
CC: "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>
CC: Jason A. Donenfeld <Jason@zx2c4.com>
CC: Eric Biggers <ebiggers3@gmail.com>
---
security/keys/big_key.c | 9 ++++++++-
1 file changed, 8 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/security/keys/big_key.c b/security/keys/big_key.c
index 933623784ccd..75c46786a166 100644
--- a/security/keys/big_key.c
+++ b/security/keys/big_key.c
@@ -22,6 +22,7 @@
#include <keys/user-type.h>
#include <keys/big_key-type.h>
#include <crypto/aead.h>
+#include <crypto/gcm.h>

struct big_key_buf {
unsigned int nr_pages;
@@ -109,7 +110,7 @@ static int big_key_crypt(enum big_key_op op, struct big_key_buf *buf, size_t dat
* an .update function, so there's no chance we'll wind up reusing the
* key to encrypt updated data. Simply put: one key, one encryption.
*/
- u8 zero_nonce[crypto_aead_ivsize(big_key_aead)];
+ u8 zero_nonce[GCM_AES_IV_SIZE];

aead_req = aead_request_alloc(big_key_aead, GFP_KERNEL);
if (!aead_req)
@@ -425,6 +426,12 @@ static int __init big_key_init(void)
pr_err("Can't alloc crypto: %d\n", ret);
return ret;
}
+
+ if (unlikely(crypto_aead_ivsize(big_key_aead) != GCM_AES_IV_SIZE)) {
+ WARN(1, "big key algorithm changed?");
+ return -EINVAL;
+ }
+
ret = crypto_aead_setauthsize(big_key_aead, ENC_AUTHTAG_SIZE);
if (ret < 0) {
pr_err("Can't set crypto auth tag len: %d\n", ret);
--
2.17.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-04-24 03:03    [W:0.082 / U:2.376 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site