lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Apr]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:perf/urgent] perf: Return proper values for user stack errors
Commit-ID:  78b562fbfa2cf0a9fcb23c3154756b690f4905c1
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/78b562fbfa2cf0a9fcb23c3154756b690f4905c1
Author: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
AuthorDate: Sun, 15 Apr 2018 11:23:50 +0200
Committer: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
CommitDate: Tue, 17 Apr 2018 09:47:39 -0300

perf: Return proper values for user stack errors

Return immediately when we find issue in the user stack checks. The
error value could get overwritten by following check for
PERF_SAMPLE_REGS_INTR.

Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: syzkaller-bugs@googlegroups.com
Cc: x86@kernel.org
Fixes: 60e2364e60e8 ("perf: Add ability to sample machine state on interrupt")
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180415092352.12403-1-jolsa@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
---
kernel/events/core.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/events/core.c b/kernel/events/core.c
index 1bae80aaabfb..67612ce359ad 100644
--- a/kernel/events/core.c
+++ b/kernel/events/core.c
@@ -10209,9 +10209,9 @@ static int perf_copy_attr(struct perf_event_attr __user *uattr,
* __u16 sample size limit.
*/
if (attr->sample_stack_user >= USHRT_MAX)
- ret = -EINVAL;
+ return -EINVAL;
else if (!IS_ALIGNED(attr->sample_stack_user, sizeof(u64)))
- ret = -EINVAL;
+ return -EINVAL;
}

if (!attr->sample_max_stack)
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-04-21 09:50    [W:0.091 / U:5.584 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site