lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Apr]   [13]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH] fs/dcache.c: re-add cond_resched() in shrink_dcache_parent()
Date
shrink_dcache_parent may spin waiting for a parallel shrink_dentry_list.
In this case we may have 0 dentries to dispose, so we will never
schedule out while waiting for the parallel shrink_dentry_list to
complete.

Tested that this fixes syzbot reports of stalls in shrink_dcache_parent()

Fixes: 32785c0539b7 ("fs/dcache.c: add cond_resched() in shrink_dentry_list()")
Reported-by: syzbot+ae80b790eb412884ca77@syzkaller.appspotmail.com

Cc: Nikolay Borisov <nborisov@suse.com>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: Goldwyn Rodrigues <rgoldwyn@suse.de>
Cc: Jeff Mahoney <jeffm@suse.com>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Khazhismel Kumykov <khazhy@google.com>
---
fs/dcache.c | 1 +
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+)

diff --git a/fs/dcache.c b/fs/dcache.c
index 591b34500e41..3507badeb60a 100644
--- a/fs/dcache.c
+++ b/fs/dcache.c
@@ -1489,6 +1489,7 @@ void shrink_dcache_parent(struct dentry *parent)
break;

shrink_dentry_list(&data.dispose);
+ cond_resched();
}
}
EXPORT_SYMBOL(shrink_dcache_parent);
--
2.17.0.484.g0c8726318c-goog
[unhandled content-type:application/pkcs7-signature]
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-04-13 22:29    [W:0.050 / U:0.884 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site