lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [23]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:sched/core] sched/cpufreq: Rate limits for SCHED_DEADLINE
Commit-ID:  e97a90f7069b740575bcb1dae86596e0484b8957
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/e97a90f7069b740575bcb1dae86596e0484b8957
Author: Claudio Scordino <claudio@evidence.eu.com>
AuthorDate: Tue, 13 Mar 2018 11:35:40 +0100
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Fri, 23 Mar 2018 22:48:22 +0100

sched/cpufreq: Rate limits for SCHED_DEADLINE

When the SCHED_DEADLINE scheduling class increases the CPU utilization, it
should not wait for the rate limit, otherwise it may miss some deadline.

Tests using rt-app on Exynos5422 with up to 10 SCHED_DEADLINE tasks have
shown reductions of even 10% of deadline misses with a negligible
increase of energy consumption (measured through Baylibre Cape).

Signed-off-by: Claudio Scordino <claudio@evidence.eu.com>
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
Acked-by: Viresh Kumar <viresh.kumar@linaro.org>
Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>
Cc: Joel Fernandes <joelaf@google.com>
Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
Cc: linux-pm@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Morten Rasmussen <morten.rasmussen@arm.com>
Cc: Patrick Bellasi <patrick.bellasi@arm.com>
Cc: Todd Kjos <tkjos@android.com>
Cc: Dietmar Eggemann <dietmar.eggemann@arm.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/1520937340-2755-1-git-send-email-claudio@evidence.eu.com
---
kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c | 14 ++++++++++++++
1 file changed, 14 insertions(+)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c b/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
index 89fe78ecb88c..2b124811947d 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/cpufreq_schedutil.c
@@ -267,6 +267,16 @@ static bool sugov_cpu_is_busy(struct sugov_cpu *sg_cpu)
static inline bool sugov_cpu_is_busy(struct sugov_cpu *sg_cpu) { return false; }
#endif /* CONFIG_NO_HZ_COMMON */

+/*
+ * Make sugov_should_update_freq() ignore the rate limit when DL
+ * has increased the utilization.
+ */
+static inline void ignore_dl_rate_limit(struct sugov_cpu *sg_cpu, struct sugov_policy *sg_policy)
+{
+ if (cpu_util_dl(cpu_rq(sg_cpu->cpu)) > sg_cpu->util_dl)
+ sg_policy->need_freq_update = true;
+}
+
static void sugov_update_single(struct update_util_data *hook, u64 time,
unsigned int flags)
{
@@ -279,6 +289,8 @@ static void sugov_update_single(struct update_util_data *hook, u64 time,
sugov_set_iowait_boost(sg_cpu, time, flags);
sg_cpu->last_update = time;

+ ignore_dl_rate_limit(sg_cpu, sg_policy);
+
if (!sugov_should_update_freq(sg_policy, time))
return;

@@ -356,6 +368,8 @@ sugov_update_shared(struct update_util_data *hook, u64 time, unsigned int flags)
sugov_set_iowait_boost(sg_cpu, time, flags);
sg_cpu->last_update = time;

+ ignore_dl_rate_limit(sg_cpu, sg_policy);
+
if (sugov_should_update_freq(sg_policy, time)) {
next_f = sugov_next_freq_shared(sg_cpu, time);
sugov_update_commit(sg_policy, time, next_f);
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-23 22:53    [W:0.076 / U:0.632 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site