lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Date
Subject[PATCH 3.2 043/104] x86/pti: Rename BUG_CPU_INSECURE to BUG_CPU_MELTDOWN
3.2.101-rc1 review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>

commit de791821c295cc61419a06fe5562288417d1bc58 upstream.

Use the name associated with the particular attack which needs page table
isolation for mitigation.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Acked-by: David Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk>
Cc: Alan Cox <gnomes@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Cc: Jiri Koshina <jikos@kernel.org>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@google.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/alpine.DEB.2.20.1801051525300.1724@nanos
[bwh: Backported to 3.2: bug number is different]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
---
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeature.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeature.h
@@ -214,7 +214,7 @@
*/
#define X86_BUG(x) (NCAPINTS*32 + (x))

-#define X86_BUG_CPU_INSECURE X86_BUG(0) /* CPU is insecure and needs kernel page table isolation */
+#define X86_BUG_CPU_MELTDOWN X86_BUG(0) /* CPU is affected by meltdown attack and needs kernel page table isolation */

#if defined(__KERNEL__) && !defined(__ASSEMBLY__)

--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
@@ -769,7 +769,7 @@ static void __init early_identify_cpu(st
this_cpu->c_bsp_init(c);

if (c->x86_vendor != X86_VENDOR_AMD)
- setup_force_cpu_bug(X86_BUG_CPU_INSECURE);
+ setup_force_cpu_bug(X86_BUG_CPU_MELTDOWN);
}

void __init early_cpu_init(void)
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-12 04:43    [W:0.290 / U:0.200 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site