lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [11]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Date
Subject[PATCH 3.2 040/104] x86/cpufeatures: Make CPU bugs sticky
3.2.101-rc1 review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>

commit 6cbd2171e89b13377261d15e64384df60ecb530e upstream.

There is currently no way to force CPU bug bits like CPU feature bits. That
makes it impossible to set a bug bit once at boot and have it stick for all
upcoming CPUs.

Extend the force set/clear arrays to handle bug bits as well.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Reviewed-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bpetkov@suse.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>
Cc: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: aliguori@amazon.com
Cc: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at
Cc: hughd@google.com
Cc: keescook@google.com
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20171204150606.992156574@linutronix.de
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: David Woodhouse <dwmw@amazon.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
[bwh: Backported to 3.2: adjust context]
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben@decadent.org.uk>
---
arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeature.h | 2 ++
arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h | 4 ++--
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c | 6 +++---
3 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeature.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/cpufeature.h
@@ -258,6 +258,8 @@ extern const char * const x86_power_flag
set_bit(bit, (unsigned long *)cpu_caps_set); \
} while (0)

+#define setup_force_cpu_bug(bit) setup_force_cpu_cap(bit)
+
#define cpu_has_fpu boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_FPU)
#define cpu_has_vme boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_VME)
#define cpu_has_de boot_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_DE)
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
@@ -130,8 +130,8 @@ extern struct cpuinfo_x86 boot_cpu_data;
extern struct cpuinfo_x86 new_cpu_data;

extern struct tss_struct doublefault_tss;
-extern __u32 cpu_caps_cleared[NCAPINTS];
-extern __u32 cpu_caps_set[NCAPINTS];
+extern __u32 cpu_caps_cleared[NCAPINTS + NBUGINTS];
+extern __u32 cpu_caps_set[NCAPINTS + NBUGINTS];

#ifdef CONFIG_SMP
DECLARE_PER_CPU_SHARED_ALIGNED(struct cpuinfo_x86, cpu_info);
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
@@ -424,8 +424,8 @@ static const char *__cpuinit table_looku
return NULL; /* Not found */
}

-__u32 cpu_caps_cleared[NCAPINTS] __cpuinitdata;
-__u32 cpu_caps_set[NCAPINTS] __cpuinitdata;
+__u32 cpu_caps_cleared[NCAPINTS + NBUGINTS] __cpuinitdata;
+__u32 cpu_caps_set[NCAPINTS + NBUGINTS] __cpuinitdata;

void load_percpu_segment(int cpu)
{
@@ -636,7 +636,7 @@ static void apply_forced_caps(struct cpu
{
int i;

- for (i = 0; i < NCAPINTS; i++) {
+ for (i = 0; i < NCAPINTS + NBUGINTS; i++) {
c->x86_capability[i] &= ~cpu_caps_cleared[i];
c->x86_capability[i] |= cpu_caps_set[i];
}
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-12 04:26    [W:0.300 / U:0.864 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site