lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Feb]   [21]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:sched/core] sched/fair: Defer calculation of 'prev_eff_load' in wake_affine_weight() until needed
Commit-ID:  eeb60398639143c11ff2c8b509e3a471411bb5d3
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/eeb60398639143c11ff2c8b509e3a471411bb5d3
Author: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
AuthorDate: Tue, 13 Feb 2018 13:37:26 +0000
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Wed, 21 Feb 2018 08:49:07 +0100

sched/fair: Defer calculation of 'prev_eff_load' in wake_affine_weight() until needed

On sync wakeups, the previous CPU effective load may not be used so delay
the calculation until it's needed.

Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Giovanni Gherdovich <ggherdovich@suse.cz>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180213133730.24064-3-mgorman@techsingularity.net
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/sched/fair.c | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index 0132572..ae3e6f8 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -5724,7 +5724,6 @@ wake_affine_weight(struct sched_domain *sd, struct task_struct *p,
unsigned long task_load;

this_eff_load = target_load(this_cpu, sd->wake_idx);
- prev_eff_load = source_load(prev_cpu, sd->wake_idx);

if (sync) {
unsigned long current_load = task_h_load(current);
@@ -5742,6 +5741,7 @@ wake_affine_weight(struct sched_domain *sd, struct task_struct *p,
this_eff_load *= 100;
this_eff_load *= capacity_of(prev_cpu);

+ prev_eff_load = source_load(prev_cpu, sd->wake_idx);
prev_eff_load -= task_load;
if (sched_feat(WA_BIAS))
prev_eff_load *= 100 + (sd->imbalance_pct - 100) / 2;
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-02-21 11:31    [W:0.179 / U:8.464 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site