lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Dec]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[RFC PATCH 04/14] mm/hms: add initiator to heterogeneous memory system infrastructure
Date
From: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>

An initiator is anything that can initiate memory access, either a CPU
or a device. Here CPUs and devices are treated as equals.

See HMS Documentation/vm/hms.txt for further detail..

Signed-off-by: Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael@kernel.org>
Cc: Ross Zwisler <ross.zwisler@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Haggai Eran <haggaie@mellanox.com>
Cc: Balbir Singh <balbirs@au1.ibm.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Felix Kuehling <felix.kuehling@amd.com>
Cc: Philip Yang <Philip.Yang@amd.com>
Cc: Christian König <christian.koenig@amd.com>
Cc: Paul Blinzer <Paul.Blinzer@amd.com>
Cc: Logan Gunthorpe <logang@deltatee.com>
Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Cc: Ralph Campbell <rcampbell@nvidia.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
Cc: Jonathan Cameron <jonathan.cameron@huawei.com>
Cc: Mark Hairgrove <mhairgrove@nvidia.com>
Cc: Vivek Kini <vkini@nvidia.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
Cc: Ben Skeggs <bskeggs@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
---
drivers/base/Makefile | 2 +-
drivers/base/hms-initiator.c | 141 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
include/linux/hms.h | 15 ++++
3 files changed, 157 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)
create mode 100644 drivers/base/hms-initiator.c

diff --git a/drivers/base/Makefile b/drivers/base/Makefile
index 8e8092145f18..6a1b5ab667bd 100644
--- a/drivers/base/Makefile
+++ b/drivers/base/Makefile
@@ -12,7 +12,7 @@ obj-y += power/
obj-$(CONFIG_ISA_BUS_API) += isa.o
obj-y += firmware_loader/
obj-$(CONFIG_NUMA) += node.o
-obj-$(CONFIG_HMS) += hms.o hms-target.o
+obj-$(CONFIG_HMS) += hms.o hms-target.o hms-initiator.o
obj-$(CONFIG_MEMORY_HOTPLUG_SPARSE) += memory.o
ifeq ($(CONFIG_SYSFS),y)
obj-$(CONFIG_MODULES) += module.o
diff --git a/drivers/base/hms-initiator.c b/drivers/base/hms-initiator.c
new file mode 100644
index 000000000000..08aa519427d6
--- /dev/null
+++ b/drivers/base/hms-initiator.c
@@ -0,0 +1,141 @@
+/*
+ * Copyright 2018 Red Hat Inc.
+ *
+ * This program is free software; you can redistribute it and/or
+ * modify it under the terms of the GNU General Public License as
+ * published by the Free Software Foundation; either version 2 of
+ * the License, or (at your option) any later version.
+ *
+ * This program is distributed in the hope that it will be useful,
+ * but WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY; without even the implied warranty of
+ * MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE. See the
+ * GNU General Public License for more details.
+ *
+ * Authors:
+ * Jérôme Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
+ */
+/* Heterogeneous memory system (HMS) see Documentation/vm/hms.rst */
+#include <linux/capability.h>
+#include <linux/topology.h>
+#include <linux/uaccess.h>
+#include <linux/device.h>
+#include <linux/module.h>
+#include <linux/mutex.h>
+#include <linux/slab.h>
+#include <linux/init.h>
+#include <linux/hms.h>
+
+
+static inline struct hms_initiator *hms_object_to_initiator(struct hms_object *object)
+{
+ if (object == NULL)
+ return NULL;
+
+ if (object->type != HMS_INITIATOR)
+ return NULL;
+ return container_of(object, struct hms_initiator, object);
+}
+
+static inline struct hms_initiator *device_to_hms_initiator(struct device *device)
+{
+ if (device == NULL)
+ return NULL;
+
+ return hms_object_to_initiator(to_hms_object(device));
+}
+
+struct hms_initiator *hms_initiator_find_locked(unsigned uid)
+{
+ struct hms_object *object = hms_object_find_locked(uid);
+ struct hms_initiator *initiator;
+
+ initiator = hms_object_to_initiator(object);
+ if (initiator)
+ return initiator;
+ hms_object_put(object);
+ return NULL;
+}
+
+struct hms_initiator *hms_initiator_find(unsigned uid)
+{
+ struct hms_object *object = hms_object_find(uid);
+ struct hms_initiator *initiator;
+
+ initiator = hms_object_to_initiator(object);
+ if (initiator)
+ return initiator;
+ hms_object_put(object);
+ return NULL;
+}
+
+static void hms_initiator_release(struct device *device)
+{
+ struct hms_initiator *initiator = device_to_hms_initiator(device);
+
+ hms_object_release(&initiator->object);
+ kfree(initiator);
+}
+
+static ssize_t hms_initiator_show_uid(struct device *device,
+ struct device_attribute *attr,
+ char *buf)
+{
+ struct hms_initiator *initiator = device_to_hms_initiator(device);
+
+ if (initiator == NULL)
+ return -EINVAL;
+
+ return sprintf(buf, "%d\n", initiator->object.uid);
+}
+
+static DEVICE_ATTR(uid, 0444, hms_initiator_show_uid, NULL);
+
+static struct attribute *hms_initiator_attrs[] = {
+ &dev_attr_uid.attr,
+ NULL
+};
+
+static struct attribute_group hms_initiator_attr_group = {
+ .attrs = hms_initiator_attrs,
+};
+
+static const struct attribute_group *hms_initiator_attr_groups[] = {
+ &hms_initiator_attr_group,
+ NULL,
+};
+
+void hms_initiator_register(struct hms_initiator **initiatorp,
+ struct device *parent, int nid,
+ unsigned version)
+{
+ struct hms_initiator *initiator;
+
+ *initiatorp = NULL;
+ initiator = kzalloc(sizeof(*initiator), GFP_KERNEL);
+ if (initiator == NULL)
+ return;
+
+ initiator->nid = nid;
+
+ if (hms_object_init(&initiator->object, parent, HMS_INITIATOR, version,
+ hms_initiator_release, hms_initiator_attr_groups))
+ {
+ kfree(initiator);
+ initiator = NULL;
+ }
+
+ *initiatorp = initiator;
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(hms_initiator_register);
+
+void hms_initiator_unregister(struct hms_initiator **initiatorp)
+{
+ struct hms_initiator *initiator = *initiatorp;
+
+ *initiatorp = NULL;
+ if (initiator == NULL)
+ return;
+
+ hms_object_unregister(&initiator->object);
+}
+EXPORT_SYMBOL(hms_initiator_unregister);
diff --git a/include/linux/hms.h b/include/linux/hms.h
index 0568fdf6d479..7a2823493f63 100644
--- a/include/linux/hms.h
+++ b/include/linux/hms.h
@@ -67,6 +67,17 @@ struct hms_object *hms_object_find_locked(unsigned uid);
struct hms_object *hms_object_find(unsigned uid);


+struct hms_initiator {
+ struct hms_object object;
+ int nid;
+};
+
+void hms_initiator_register(struct hms_initiator **initiatorp,
+ struct device *parent, int nid,
+ unsigned version);
+void hms_initiator_unregister(struct hms_initiator **initiatorp);
+
+
struct hms_target {
const struct hms_target_hbind *hbind;
struct hms_object object;
@@ -95,6 +106,10 @@ int hms_init(void);
#else /* IS_ENABLED(CONFIG_HMS) */


+#define hms_initiator_register(initiatorp)
+#define hms_initiator_unregister(initiatorp)
+
+
#define hms_target_add_memory(target, size)
#define hms_target_remove_memory(target, size)
#define hms_target_register(targetp, nid, size)
--
2.17.2
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-12-04 00:37    [W:0.279 / U:8.104 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site