lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Dec]   [3]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH memory-model 1/3] tools/memory-model: Model smp_mb__after_unlock_lock()
Date
From: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>

>From the header comment for smp_mb__after_unlock_lock():

"Place this after a lock-acquisition primitive to guarantee that
an UNLOCK+LOCK pair acts as a full barrier. This guarantee applies
if the UNLOCK and LOCK are executed by the same CPU or if the
UNLOCK and LOCK operate on the same lock variable."

This formalizes the above guarantee by defining (new) mb-links according
to the law:

([M] ; po ; [UL] ; (co | po) ; [LKW] ;
fencerel(After-unlock-lock) ; [M])

where the component ([UL] ; co ; [LKW]) identifies "UNLOCK+LOCK pairs on
the same lock variable" and the component ([UL] ; po ; [LKW]) identifies
"UNLOCK+LOCK pairs executed by the same CPU".

In particular, the LKMM forbids the following two behaviors (the second
litmus test below is based on

Documentation/RCU/Design/Memory-Ordering/Tree-RCU-Memory-Ordering.html

c.f., Section "Tree RCU Grace Period Memory Ordering Building Blocks"):

C after-unlock-lock-same-cpu

(*
* Result: Never
*)

{}

P0(spinlock_t *s, spinlock_t *t, int *x, int *y)
{
int r0;

spin_lock(s);
WRITE_ONCE(*x, 1);
spin_unlock(s);
spin_lock(t);
smp_mb__after_unlock_lock();
r0 = READ_ONCE(*y);
spin_unlock(t);
}

P1(int *x, int *y)
{
int r0;

WRITE_ONCE(*y, 1);
smp_mb();
r0 = READ_ONCE(*x);
}

exists (0:r0=0 /\ 1:r0=0)

C after-unlock-lock-same-lock-variable

(*
* Result: Never
*)

{}

P0(spinlock_t *s, int *x, int *y)
{
int r0;

spin_lock(s);
WRITE_ONCE(*x, 1);
r0 = READ_ONCE(*y);
spin_unlock(s);
}

P1(spinlock_t *s, int *y, int *z)
{
int r0;

spin_lock(s);
smp_mb__after_unlock_lock();
WRITE_ONCE(*y, 1);
r0 = READ_ONCE(*z);
spin_unlock(s);
}

P2(int *z, int *x)
{
int r0;

WRITE_ONCE(*z, 1);
smp_mb();
r0 = READ_ONCE(*x);
}

exists (0:r0=0 /\ 1:r0=0 /\ 2:r0=0)

Signed-off-by: Andrea Parri <andrea.parri@amarulasolutions.com>
Cc: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
Cc: Jade Alglave <j.alglave@ucl.ac.uk>
Cc: Luc Maranget <luc.maranget@inria.fr>
Cc: "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Akira Yokosawa <akiyks@gmail.com>
Cc: Daniel Lustig <dlustig@nvidia.com>
Signed-off-by: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.ibm.com>
---
tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.bell | 3 ++-
tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.cat | 4 +++-
tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.def | 1 +
3 files changed, 6 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.bell b/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.bell
index b84fb2f67109..796513362c05 100644
--- a/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.bell
+++ b/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.bell
@@ -29,7 +29,8 @@ enum Barriers = 'wmb (*smp_wmb*) ||
'sync-rcu (*synchronize_rcu*) ||
'before-atomic (*smp_mb__before_atomic*) ||
'after-atomic (*smp_mb__after_atomic*) ||
- 'after-spinlock (*smp_mb__after_spinlock*)
+ 'after-spinlock (*smp_mb__after_spinlock*) ||
+ 'after-unlock-lock (*smp_mb__after_unlock_lock*)
instructions F[Barriers]

(* Compute matching pairs of nested Rcu-lock and Rcu-unlock *)
diff --git a/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.cat b/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.cat
index 882fc33274ac..8f23c74a96fd 100644
--- a/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.cat
+++ b/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.cat
@@ -30,7 +30,9 @@ let wmb = [W] ; fencerel(Wmb) ; [W]
let mb = ([M] ; fencerel(Mb) ; [M]) |
([M] ; fencerel(Before-atomic) ; [RMW] ; po? ; [M]) |
([M] ; po? ; [RMW] ; fencerel(After-atomic) ; [M]) |
- ([M] ; po? ; [LKW] ; fencerel(After-spinlock) ; [M])
+ ([M] ; po? ; [LKW] ; fencerel(After-spinlock) ; [M]) |
+ ([M] ; po ; [UL] ; (co | po) ; [LKW] ;
+ fencerel(After-unlock-lock) ; [M])
let gp = po ; [Sync-rcu] ; po?

let strong-fence = mb | gp
diff --git a/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.def b/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.def
index 6fa3eb28d40b..b27911cc087d 100644
--- a/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.def
+++ b/tools/memory-model/linux-kernel.def
@@ -23,6 +23,7 @@ smp_wmb() { __fence{wmb}; }
smp_mb__before_atomic() { __fence{before-atomic}; }
smp_mb__after_atomic() { __fence{after-atomic}; }
smp_mb__after_spinlock() { __fence{after-spinlock}; }
+smp_mb__after_unlock_lock() { __fence{after-unlock-lock}; }

// Exchange
xchg(X,V) __xchg{mb}(X,V)
--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-12-04 00:08    [W:0.125 / U:39.696 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site