lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Dec]   [27]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCHv3 0/2] mm/memblock: reuse memblock bottom-up allocation style
On 12/28/18 at 11:00am, Pingfan Liu wrote:
> The bottom-up allocation style is introduced to cope with movable_node,
> where the limit inferior of allocation starts from kernel's end, due to
> lack of knowledge of memory hotplug info at this early time.
> Beside this original aim, 'kexec -c' prefers to reuse this style to alloc mem

Wondering what is 'kexec -c'.

> at lower address, since if the reserved region is beyond 4G, then it requires
> extra mem (default is 16M) for swiotlb. But at this time hotplug info has been

The default is 256M, not sure if we are talking about the same thing.

low_size = max(swiotlb_size_or_default() + (8UL << 20), 256UL << 20);

> got, the limit inferior can be extend to 0, which is done by this series
>
> Cc: Tang Chen <tangchen@cn.fujitsu.com>
> Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rjw@rjwysocki.net>
> Cc: Len Brown <lenb@kernel.org>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
> Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
> Cc: Yaowei Bai <baiyaowei@cmss.chinamobile.com>
> Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com>
> Cc: Nicholas Piggin <npiggin@gmail.com>
> Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
> Cc: Daniel Vacek <neelx@redhat.com>
> Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org>
> Cc: Stefan Agner <stefan@agner.ch>
> Cc: Dave Young <dyoung@redhat.com>
> Cc: Baoquan He <bhe@redhat.com>
> Cc: yinghai@kernel.org,
> Cc: vgoyal@redhat.com
> Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org
>
> Pingfan Liu (2):
> mm/memblock: extend the limit inferior of bottom-up after parsing
> hotplug attr
> x86/kdump: bugfix, make the behavior of crashkernel=X consistent with
> kaslr
>
> arch/x86/kernel/setup.c | 9 +++++---
> drivers/acpi/numa.c | 4 ++++
> include/linux/memblock.h | 1 +
> mm/memblock.c | 58 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++-------------------
> 4 files changed, 46 insertions(+), 26 deletions(-)
>
> --
> 2.7.4
>

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-12-28 04:40    [W:0.108 / U:4.840 seconds]
©2003-2018 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site