lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Dec]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH 4/7] remoteproc: add warning on resource table cast
Date


> -----Original Message-----
> From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
> Sent: vendredi 30 novembre 2018 15:33
> To: Loic PALLARDY <loic.pallardy@st.com>
> Cc: Bjorn Andersson <bjorn.andersson@linaro.org>; Ohad Ben-Cohen
> <ohad@wizery.com>; linux-remoteproc@vger.kernel.org; Linux Kernel
> Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>; Arnaud POULIQUEN
> <arnaud.pouliquen@st.com>; Benjamin Gaignard
> <benjamin.gaignard@linaro.org>; Suman Anna <s-anna@ti.com>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/7] remoteproc: add warning on resource table cast
>
> On Thu, Nov 29, 2018 at 10:31 PM Loic Pallardy <loic.pallardy@st.com> wrote:
> >
> > Today resource table supports only 32bit address fields.
> > This is not compliant with 64bit platform for which addresses
> > are cast in 32bit.
> > This patch adds warn messages when address cast is done.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Loic Pallardy <loic.pallardy@st.com>
> > ---
> > drivers/remoteproc/remoteproc_core.c | 8 ++++++++
> > 1 file changed, 8 insertions(+)
> >
> > diff --git a/drivers/remoteproc/remoteproc_core.c
> b/drivers/remoteproc/remoteproc_core.c
> > index 18a1bbf820c9..61c954bd695e 100644
> > --- a/drivers/remoteproc/remoteproc_core.c
> > +++ b/drivers/remoteproc/remoteproc_core.c
> > @@ -772,6 +772,10 @@ static int rproc_alloc_carveout(struct rproc *rproc,
> > dev_dbg(dev, "carveout mapped 0x%x to %pad\n",
> > mem->da, &dma);
> > } else {
> > + /* Update device address as undefined by requester */
> > + if (sizeof(dma_addr_t) > sizeof(u32))
> > + dev_warn(dev, "DMA address cast in 32bit to fit resource table
> format\n");
> > +
> > mem->da = (u32)dma;
> > }
>
> I think this patch is wrong: sizeof(dma_addr_t) is defined to be large enough
> to support any machine that the kernel can run on. If you build a kernel that
> happens to work on an ARM32 platform with LPAE enabled, then this will
> warn every time, even if you are running on a machine that only has a 32-bit
> address space.

I suppose if LPAE is enabled, address space is larger than 32bit.
But I agree it is possible to display a warn only when some information will be lost
due to cast.
I'll propose a new version testing dma address itself and displaying warn only if above 4GB.

Regards,
Loic
>
> Arnd
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-11-30 21:49    [W:0.080 / U:0.996 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site