lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Nov]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH] kernel/time/posix-cpu-timers: Remove useless call to check_dl_overrun
On Wed, 7 Nov 2018 16:02:21 +0100
Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> wrote:

> On Wed, Nov 07, 2018 at 09:56:27AM -0500, Steven Rostedt wrote:
> > On Wed, 7 Nov 2018 12:10:32 +0100
> > Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com> wrote:
> >
> > > check_dl_overrun is used to send a SIGXCPU to users that asked to be
> > > informed when SCHED_DEADLINE runtime overruns occur.
> > >
> > > The function is called by check_thread_timers already, so the call in
> > > check_process_timers is redundant/wrong (even though harmless).
> > >
> > > Remove it.
> > >
> > > Fixes: 34be39305a77 ("sched/deadline: Implement "runtime overrun signal" support")
> > > Signed-off-by: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@redhat.com>
> > > Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
> > > Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> > > Cc: Luca Abeni <luca.abeni@santannapisa.it>
> > > Cc: Claudio Scordino <claudio@evidence.eu.com>
> > > Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
> > > ---
> > > kernel/time/posix-cpu-timers.c | 3 ---
> > > 1 file changed, 3 deletions(-)
> > >
> > > diff --git a/kernel/time/posix-cpu-timers.c b/kernel/time/posix-cpu-timers.c
> > > index ce32cf741b25..8f0644af40be 100644
> > > --- a/kernel/time/posix-cpu-timers.c
> > > +++ b/kernel/time/posix-cpu-timers.c
> > > @@ -917,9 +917,6 @@ static void check_process_timers(struct task_struct *tsk,
> > > struct task_cputime cputime;
> > > unsigned long soft;
> > >
> > > - if (dl_task(tsk))
> > > - check_dl_overrun(tsk);
> > > -
> >
> > Hmm, I wonder if we should just move this check directly into
> > run_posix_cpu_timers() directly. Why is it hidden in this call?
>
> It is not; it is duplicated in this call. The one in
> check_thread_timeres() makes sense (it is a thread property).

OK, in that case.

Reviewed-by: Steven Rostedt (VMware) <rostedt@goodmis.org>

-- Steve

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-11-07 17:32    [W:0.066 / U:0.876 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site