lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Nov]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 3/8] lib/lzo: enable 64-bit CTZ on Arm
Date
From: Matt Sealey <matt.sealey@arm.com>

ARMv6 Thumb state introduced an RBIT instruction which, combined with CLZ
as present in ARMv5, introduces an extremely fast path for counting
trailing zeroes.

Enable the use of the GCC builtin for this on ARMv6+ with
CONFIG_THUMB2_KERNEL to ensure we get the 'new' instruction usage.

We do not bother enabling LZO_USE_CTZ64 support for ARMv5 as the builtin
code path does the same thing as the LZO_USE_CTZ32 code, only with more
register pressure.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181127161913.23863-4-dave.rodgman@arm.com
Signed-off-by: Matt Sealey <matt.sealey@arm.com>
Signed-off-by: Dave Rodgman <dave.rodgman@arm.com>
Cc: David S. Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Herbert Xu <herbert@gondor.apana.org.au>
Cc: Markus F.X.J. Oberhumer <markus@oberhumer.com>
Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
Cc: Nitin Gupta <nitingupta910@gmail.com>
Cc: Richard Purdie <rpurdie@openedhand.com>
Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky.work@gmail.com>
Cc: Sonny Rao <sonnyrao@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
---
lib/lzo/lzodefs.h | 7 ++++++-
1 file changed, 6 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/lib/lzo/lzodefs.h b/lib/lzo/lzodefs.h
index e1b3cf6459a9..c0193f726db0 100644
--- a/lib/lzo/lzodefs.h
+++ b/lib/lzo/lzodefs.h
@@ -33,9 +33,14 @@
#define LZO_USE_CTZ32 1
#elif defined(CONFIG_X86) || defined(CONFIG_PPC)
#define LZO_USE_CTZ32 1
-#elif defined(CONFIG_ARM) && (__LINUX_ARM_ARCH__ >= 5)
+#elif defined(CONFIG_ARM)
+#if (__LINUX_ARM_ARCH__ >= 5)
#define LZO_USE_CTZ32 1
#endif
+#if (__LINUX_ARM_ARCH__ >= 6) && defined(CONFIG_THUMB2_KERNEL)
+#define LZO_USE_CTZ64 1
+#endif
+#endif

#define M1_MAX_OFFSET 0x0400
#define M2_MAX_OFFSET 0x0800
--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-11-30 15:27    [W:0.173 / U:5.668 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site