lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Nov]   [30]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:efi/core] efi/libstub: Disable some warnings for x86{,_64}
Commit-ID:  3db5e0ba8b8f4aee631d7ee04b7a11c56cfdc213
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/3db5e0ba8b8f4aee631d7ee04b7a11c56cfdc213
Author: Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com>
AuthorDate: Thu, 29 Nov 2018 18:12:26 +0100
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Fri, 30 Nov 2018 09:10:31 +0100

efi/libstub: Disable some warnings for x86{,_64}

When building the kernel with Clang, some disabled warnings appear
because this Makefile overrides KBUILD_CFLAGS for x86{,_64}. Add them to
this list so that the build is clean again.

-Wpointer-sign was disabled for the whole kernel before the beginning of Git history.

-Waddress-of-packed-member was disabled for the whole kernel and for
the early boot code in these commits:

bfb38988c51e ("kbuild: clang: Disable 'address-of-packed-member' warning")
20c6c1890455 ("x86/boot: Disable the address-of-packed-member compiler warning").

-Wgnu was disabled for the whole kernel and for the early boot code in
these commits:

61163efae020 ("kbuild: LLVMLinux: Add Kbuild support for building kernel with Clang")
6c3b56b19730 ("x86/boot: Disable Clang warnings about GNU extensions").

[ mingo: Made the changelog more readable. ]

Tested-by: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Nathan Chancellor <natechancellor@gmail.com>
Signed-off-by: Ard Biesheuvel <ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org>
Reviewed-by: Sedat Dilek <sedat.dilek@gmail.com>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arend van Spriel <arend.vanspriel@broadcom.com>
Cc: Bhupesh Sharma <bhsharma@redhat.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Eric Snowberg <eric.snowberg@oracle.com>
Cc: Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>
Cc: Joe Perches <joe@perches.com>
Cc: Jon Hunter <jonathanh@nvidia.com>
Cc: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>
Cc: Matt Fleming <matt@codeblueprint.co.uk>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Sai Praneeth Prakhya <sai.praneeth.prakhya@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: YiFei Zhu <zhuyifei1999@gmail.com>
Cc: linux-efi@vger.kernel.org
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181129171230.18699-8-ard.biesheuvel@linaro.org
Link: https://github.com/ClangBuiltLinux/linux/issues/112
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
drivers/firmware/efi/libstub/Makefile | 5 ++++-
1 file changed, 4 insertions(+), 1 deletion(-)

diff --git a/drivers/firmware/efi/libstub/Makefile b/drivers/firmware/efi/libstub/Makefile
index c51627660dbb..d9845099635e 100644
--- a/drivers/firmware/efi/libstub/Makefile
+++ b/drivers/firmware/efi/libstub/Makefile
@@ -9,7 +9,10 @@ cflags-$(CONFIG_X86_32) := -march=i386
cflags-$(CONFIG_X86_64) := -mcmodel=small
cflags-$(CONFIG_X86) += -m$(BITS) -D__KERNEL__ -O2 \
-fPIC -fno-strict-aliasing -mno-red-zone \
- -mno-mmx -mno-sse -fshort-wchar
+ -mno-mmx -mno-sse -fshort-wchar \
+ -Wno-pointer-sign \
+ $(call cc-disable-warning, address-of-packed-member) \
+ $(call cc-disable-warning, gnu)

# arm64 uses the full KBUILD_CFLAGS so it's necessary to explicitly
# disable the stackleak plugin
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-11-30 11:01    [W:0.279 / U:2.896 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site