lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Nov]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH v6 02/24] arm64: cpufeature: Set SYSREG_GIC_CPUIF as a boot system feature
On Mon, Nov 12, 2018 at 11:56:53AM +0000, Julien Thierry wrote:
> It is not supported to have some CPUs using GICv3 sysreg CPU interface
> while some others do not.
>
> Once ICC_SRE_EL1.SRE is set on a CPU, the bit cannot be cleared. Since
> matching this feature require setting ICC_SRE_EL1.SRE, it cannot be
> turned off if found on a CPU.
>
> Set the feature as STRICT_BOOT, if boot CPU has it, all other CPUs are
> required to have it.
>
> Signed-off-by: Julien Thierry <julien.thierry@arm.com>
> Suggested-by: Daniel Thompson <daniel.thompson@linaro.org>
> Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
> Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
> Cc: Suzuki K Poulose <suzuki.poulose@arm.com>
> Cc: Marc Zyngier <marc.zyngier@arm.com>

Makes sense.

Reviewed-by: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>

Mark.

> ---
> arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c | 2 +-
> 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
>
> diff --git a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
> index af50064..03a9d96 100644
> --- a/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
> +++ b/arch/arm64/kernel/cpufeature.c
> @@ -1149,7 +1149,7 @@ static void cpu_clear_disr(const struct arm64_cpu_capabilities *__unused)
> {
> .desc = "GIC system register CPU interface",
> .capability = ARM64_HAS_SYSREG_GIC_CPUIF,
> - .type = ARM64_CPUCAP_SYSTEM_FEATURE,
> + .type = ARM64_CPUCAP_STRICT_BOOT_CPU_FEATURE,
> .matches = has_useable_gicv3_cpuif,
> .sys_reg = SYS_ID_AA64PFR0_EL1,
> .field_pos = ID_AA64PFR0_GIC_SHIFT,
> --
> 1.9.1
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> linux-arm-kernel mailing list
> linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org
> http://lists.infradead.org/mailman/listinfo/linux-arm-kernel

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-11-29 17:28    [W:0.164 / U:4.364 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site