lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Nov]   [23]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH v1] mm/memory_hotplug: drop "online" parameter from add_memory_resource()
From
Date
On 23.11.18 13:54, Michal Hocko wrote:
> On Fri 23-11-18 13:37:40, David Hildenbrand wrote:
>> User space should always be in charge of how to online memory and
>> if memory should be onlined automatically in the kernel. Let's drop the
>> parameter to overwrite this - XEN passes memhp_auto_online, just like
>> add_memory(), so we can directly use that instead internally.
>
> Heh, I wanted to get rid of memhp_auto_online so much and now we have it
> in the core memory_hotplug. Not a win on my side I would say :/

That is actually a good point: Can we remove memhp_auto_online or is it
already some sort of kernel ABI?

(as it is exported via /sys/devices/system/memory/auto_online_blocks)

> On the other hand this can be seen as a cleanup because it removes that
> ambiguity that some callers might be unaware of the memhp_auto_online
> leading to a different behavior.

I would say this patch is a step into the right direction - remove the
flag from the interfaces, then drop it (eventually, as stated not sure
if that train has left the station).

>
>> Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
>> Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
>> Cc: Stefano Stabellini <sstabellini@kernel.org>
>> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
>> Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
>> Cc: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
>> Cc: Pavel Tatashin <pasha.tatashin@oracle.com>
>> Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
>> Cc: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
>> Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
>> Cc: Arun KS <arunks@codeaurora.org>
>> Cc: Mathieu Malaterre <malat@debian.org>
>> Cc: Stephen Rothwell <sfr@canb.auug.org.au>
>> Signed-off-by: David Hildenbrand <david@redhat.com>
>
> Acked-by: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
>


--

Thanks,

David / dhildenb

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-11-23 13:58    [W:0.049 / U:0.516 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site