lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Nov]   [23]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/cache] x86/resctrl: Rename the config option INTEL_RDT to RESCTRL
Commit-ID:  6fe07ce35e8ad870ba1cf82e0481e0fc0f526eff
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/6fe07ce35e8ad870ba1cf82e0481e0fc0f526eff
Author: Babu Moger <Babu.Moger@amd.com>
AuthorDate: Wed, 21 Nov 2018 20:28:39 +0000
Committer: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
CommitDate: Thu, 22 Nov 2018 20:16:19 +0100

x86/resctrl: Rename the config option INTEL_RDT to RESCTRL

The resource control feature is supported by both Intel and AMD. So,
rename CONFIG_INTEL_RDT to the vendor-neutral CONFIG_RESCTRL.

Now CONFIG_RESCTRL will be used for both Intel and AMD to enable
Resource Control support. Update the texts in config and condition
accordingly.

[ bp: Simplify Kconfig text. ]

Signed-off-by: Babu Moger <babu.moger@amd.com>
Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Brijesh Singh <brijesh.singh@amd.com>
Cc: "Chang S. Bae" <chang.seok.bae@intel.com>
Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
Cc: Dmitry Safonov <dima@arista.com>
Cc: Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Jann Horn <jannh@google.com>
Cc: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
Cc: Kate Stewart <kstewart@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab+samsung@kernel.org>
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Philippe Ombredanne <pombredanne@nexb.com>
Cc: Pu Wen <puwen@hygon.cn>
Cc: <qianyue.zj@alibaba-inc.com>
Cc: "Rafael J. Wysocki" <rafael@kernel.org>
Cc: Reinette Chatre <reinette.chatre@intel.com>
Cc: Rian Hunter <rian@alum.mit.edu>
Cc: Sherry Hurwitz <sherry.hurwitz@amd.com>
Cc: Suravee Suthikulpanit <suravee.suthikulpanit@amd.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Thomas Lendacky <Thomas.Lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>
Cc: <xiaochen.shen@intel.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20181121202811.4492-9-babu.moger@amd.com
---
arch/x86/Kconfig | 22 +++++++++++++++-------
arch/x86/include/asm/resctrl_sched.h | 4 ++--
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/Makefile | 2 +-
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/resctrl/Makefile | 4 ++--
include/linux/sched.h | 2 +-
5 files changed, 21 insertions(+), 13 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index 9d734f3c8234..2d0577e805d2 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -448,15 +448,23 @@ config RETPOLINE
code are eliminated. Since this includes the syscall entry path,
it is not entirely pointless.

-config INTEL_RDT
- bool "Intel Resource Director Technology support"
- depends on X86 && CPU_SUP_INTEL
+config RESCTRL
+ bool "Resource Control support"
+ depends on X86 && (CPU_SUP_INTEL || CPU_SUP_AMD)
select KERNFS
help
- Select to enable resource allocation and monitoring which are
- sub-features of Intel Resource Director Technology(RDT). More
- information about RDT can be found in the Intel x86
- Architecture Software Developer Manual.
+ Enable Resource Control support.
+
+ Provide support for the allocation and monitoring of system resources
+ usage by the CPU.
+
+ Intel calls this Intel Resource Director Technology
+ (Intel(R) RDT). More information about RDT can be found in the
+ Intel x86 Architecture Software Developer Manual.
+
+ AMD calls this AMD Platform Quality of Service (AMD QoS).
+ More information about AMD QoS can be found in the AMD64 Technology
+ Platform Quality of Service Extensions manual.

Say N if unsure.

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/resctrl_sched.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/resctrl_sched.h
index 6e082697a613..54990fe2a3ae 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/resctrl_sched.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/resctrl_sched.h
@@ -2,7 +2,7 @@
#ifndef _ASM_X86_RESCTRL_SCHED_H
#define _ASM_X86_RESCTRL_SCHED_H

-#ifdef CONFIG_INTEL_RDT
+#ifdef CONFIG_RESCTRL

#include <linux/sched.h>
#include <linux/jump_label.h>
@@ -88,6 +88,6 @@ static inline void resctrl_sched_in(void)

static inline void resctrl_sched_in(void) {}

-#endif /* CONFIG_INTEL_RDT */
+#endif /* CONFIG_RESCTRL */

#endif /* _ASM_X86_RESCTRL_SCHED_H */
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/Makefile b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/Makefile
index 8501d16dd642..dc4acaa1549d 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/Makefile
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/Makefile
@@ -39,7 +39,7 @@ obj-$(CONFIG_CPU_SUP_UMC_32) += umc.o
obj-$(CONFIG_X86_MCE) += mcheck/
obj-$(CONFIG_MTRR) += mtrr/
obj-$(CONFIG_MICROCODE) += microcode/
-obj-$(CONFIG_INTEL_RDT) += resctrl/
+obj-$(CONFIG_RESCTRL) += resctrl/

obj-$(CONFIG_X86_LOCAL_APIC) += perfctr-watchdog.o

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/resctrl/Makefile b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/resctrl/Makefile
index fa3cb91d7849..6895049ceef7 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/resctrl/Makefile
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/resctrl/Makefile
@@ -1,4 +1,4 @@
# SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0
-obj-$(CONFIG_INTEL_RDT) += core.o rdtgroup.o monitor.o
-obj-$(CONFIG_INTEL_RDT) += ctrlmondata.o pseudo_lock.o
+obj-$(CONFIG_RESCTRL) += core.o rdtgroup.o monitor.o
+obj-$(CONFIG_RESCTRL) += ctrlmondata.o pseudo_lock.o
CFLAGS_pseudo_lock.o = -I$(src)
diff --git a/include/linux/sched.h b/include/linux/sched.h
index a51c13c2b1a0..7952dfba2c76 100644
--- a/include/linux/sched.h
+++ b/include/linux/sched.h
@@ -993,7 +993,7 @@ struct task_struct {
/* cg_list protected by css_set_lock and tsk->alloc_lock: */
struct list_head cg_list;
#endif
-#ifdef CONFIG_INTEL_RDT
+#ifdef CONFIG_RESCTRL
u32 closid;
u32 rmid;
#endif
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-11-22 22:51    [W:0.273 / U:0.048 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site