lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Nov]   [19]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.4 058/160] hugetlbfs: dirty pages as they are added to pagecache
Date
4.4-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>

commit 22146c3ce98962436e401f7b7016a6f664c9ffb5 upstream.

Some test systems were experiencing negative huge page reserve counts and
incorrect file block counts. This was traced to /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
removing clean pages from hugetlbfs file pagecaches. When non-hugetlbfs
explicit code removes the pages, the appropriate accounting is not
performed.

This can be recreated as follows:
fallocate -l 2M /dev/hugepages/foo
echo 1 > /proc/sys/vm/drop_caches
fallocate -l 2M /dev/hugepages/foo
grep -i huge /proc/meminfo
AnonHugePages: 0 kB
ShmemHugePages: 0 kB
HugePages_Total: 2048
HugePages_Free: 2047
HugePages_Rsvd: 18446744073709551615
HugePages_Surp: 0
Hugepagesize: 2048 kB
Hugetlb: 4194304 kB
ls -lsh /dev/hugepages/foo
4.0M -rw-r--r--. 1 root root 2.0M Oct 17 20:05 /dev/hugepages/foo

To address this issue, dirty pages as they are added to pagecache. This
can easily be reproduced with fallocate as shown above. Read faulted
pages will eventually end up being marked dirty. But there is a window
where they are clean and could be impacted by code such as drop_caches.
So, just dirty them all as they are added to the pagecache.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/b5be45b8-5afe-56cd-9482-28384699a049@oracle.com
Fixes: 6bda666a03f0 ("hugepages: fold find_or_alloc_pages into huge_no_page()")
Signed-off-by: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Acked-by: Mihcla Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Reviewed-by: Khalid Aziz <khalid.aziz@oracle.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K . V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: "Kirill A . Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
mm/hugetlb.c | 6 ++++++
1 file changed, 6 insertions(+)

--- a/mm/hugetlb.c
+++ b/mm/hugetlb.c
@@ -3537,6 +3537,12 @@ int huge_add_to_page_cache(struct page *
return err;
ClearPagePrivate(page);

+ /*
+ * set page dirty so that it will not be removed from cache/file
+ * by non-hugetlbfs specific code paths.
+ */
+ set_page_dirty(page);
+
spin_lock(&inode->i_lock);
inode->i_blocks += blocks_per_huge_page(h);
spin_unlock(&inode->i_lock);

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-11-19 18:23    [W:0.471 / U:34.712 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site