lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Nov]   [19]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.4 115/160] fs, elf: make sure to page align bss in load_elf_library
Date
4.4-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

commit 24962af7e1041b7e50c1bc71d8d10dc678c556b5 upstream.

The current code does not make sure to page align bss before calling
vm_brk(), and this can lead to a VM_BUG_ON() in __mm_populate() due to
the requested lenght not being correctly aligned.

Let us make sure to align it properly.

Kees: only applicable to CONFIG_USELIB kernels: 32-bit and configured
for libc5.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180705145539.9627-1-osalvador@techadventures.net
Signed-off-by: Oscar Salvador <osalvador@suse.de>
Reported-by: syzbot+5dcb560fe12aa5091c06@syzkaller.appspotmail.com
Tested-by: Tetsuo Handa <penguin-kernel@i-love.sakura.ne.jp>
Acked-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Cc: Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@linaro.org>
Signed-off-by: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: Ben Hutchings <ben.hutchings@codethink.co.uk>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
fs/binfmt_elf.c | 5 ++---
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/fs/binfmt_elf.c b/fs/binfmt_elf.c
index 2963a23f7a80..f010d6c8dd14 100644
--- a/fs/binfmt_elf.c
+++ b/fs/binfmt_elf.c
@@ -1214,9 +1214,8 @@ static int load_elf_library(struct file *file)
goto out_free_ph;
}

- len = ELF_PAGESTART(eppnt->p_filesz + eppnt->p_vaddr +
- ELF_MIN_ALIGN - 1);
- bss = eppnt->p_memsz + eppnt->p_vaddr;
+ len = ELF_PAGEALIGN(eppnt->p_filesz + eppnt->p_vaddr);
+ bss = ELF_PAGEALIGN(eppnt->p_memsz + eppnt->p_vaddr);
if (bss > len) {
error = vm_brk(len, bss - len);
if (BAD_ADDR(error))
--
2.17.1


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-11-19 18:19    [W:0.386 / U:2.912 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site