lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Nov]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH V10 17/19] block: don't use bio->bi_vcnt to figure out segment number
Date
It is wrong to use bio->bi_vcnt to figure out how many segments
there are in the bio even though CLONED flag isn't set on this bio,
because this bio may be splitted or advanced.

So always use bio_segments() in blk_recount_segments(), and it shouldn't
cause any performance loss now because the physical segment number is figured
out in blk_queue_split() and BIO_SEG_VALID is set meantime since
bdced438acd83ad83a6c ("block: setup bi_phys_segments after splitting").

Cc: Dave Chinner <dchinner@redhat.com>
Cc: Kent Overstreet <kent.overstreet@gmail.com>
Fixes: 7f60dcaaf91 ("block: blk-merge: fix blk_recount_segments()")
Cc: Mike Snitzer <snitzer@redhat.com>
Cc: dm-devel@redhat.com
Cc: Alexander Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
Cc: linux-fsdevel@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Shaohua Li <shli@kernel.org>
Cc: linux-raid@vger.kernel.org
Cc: linux-erofs@lists.ozlabs.org
Cc: David Sterba <dsterba@suse.com>
Cc: linux-btrfs@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Darrick J. Wong <darrick.wong@oracle.com>
Cc: linux-xfs@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Gao Xiang <gaoxiang25@huawei.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu>
Cc: linux-ext4@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Coly Li <colyli@suse.de>
Cc: linux-bcache@vger.kernel.org
Cc: Boaz Harrosh <ooo@electrozaur.com>
Cc: Bob Peterson <rpeterso@redhat.com>
Cc: cluster-devel@redhat.com
Signed-off-by: Ming Lei <ming.lei@redhat.com>
---
block/blk-merge.c | 8 +-------
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 7 deletions(-)

diff --git a/block/blk-merge.c b/block/blk-merge.c
index cb9f49bcfd36..153a659fde74 100644
--- a/block/blk-merge.c
+++ b/block/blk-merge.c
@@ -429,13 +429,7 @@ void blk_recalc_rq_segments(struct request *rq)

void blk_recount_segments(struct request_queue *q, struct bio *bio)
{
- unsigned short seg_cnt;
-
- /* estimate segment number by bi_vcnt for non-cloned bio */
- if (bio_flagged(bio, BIO_CLONED))
- seg_cnt = bio_segments(bio);
- else
- seg_cnt = bio->bi_vcnt;
+ unsigned short seg_cnt = bio_segments(bio);

if (test_bit(QUEUE_FLAG_NO_SG_MERGE, &q->queue_flags) &&
(seg_cnt < queue_max_segments(q)))
--
2.9.5
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-11-15 09:58    [W:0.358 / U:1.640 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site