lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Nov]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH AUTOSEL 4.18 42/59] perf tools: Do not zero sample_id_all for group members
Date
From: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>

[ Upstream commit 8e88c29b351ed4e09dd63f825f1c8260b0cb0ab3 ]

Andi reported following malfunction:

# perf record -e '{ref-cycles,cycles}:S' -a sleep 1
# perf script
non matching sample_id_all

That's because we disable sample_id_all bit for non-sampling group
members. We can't do that, because it needs to be the same over the
whole event list. This patch keeps it untouched again.

Reported-by: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Tested-by: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Signed-off-by: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180923150420.27327-1-jolsa@kernel.org
Fixes: e9add8bac6c6 ("perf evsel: Disable write_backward for leader sampling group events")
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/perf/tests/attr/test-record-group-sampling | 1 -
tools/perf/util/evsel.c | 1 -
2 files changed, 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/perf/tests/attr/test-record-group-sampling b/tools/perf/tests/attr/test-record-group-sampling
index 8a33ca4f9e1f..f0729c454f16 100644
--- a/tools/perf/tests/attr/test-record-group-sampling
+++ b/tools/perf/tests/attr/test-record-group-sampling
@@ -37,4 +37,3 @@ sample_freq=0
sample_period=0
freq=0
write_backward=0
-sample_id_all=0
diff --git a/tools/perf/util/evsel.c b/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
index 6324afba8fdd..75073c4925cc 100644
--- a/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
+++ b/tools/perf/util/evsel.c
@@ -941,7 +941,6 @@ void perf_evsel__config(struct perf_evsel *evsel, struct record_opts *opts,
attr->sample_freq = 0;
attr->sample_period = 0;
attr->write_backward = 0;
- attr->sample_id_all = 0;
}

if (opts->no_samples)
--
2.17.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-11-14 23:36    [W:0.153 / U:52.972 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site