lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/asm] x86/fsgsbase/64: Factor out FS/GS segment loading from __switch_to()
Commit-ID:  f4550b52e495e1b634d1f2c1004bcea5dc3321ea
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/f4550b52e495e1b634d1f2c1004bcea5dc3321ea
Author: Chang S. Bae <chang.seok.bae@intel.com>
AuthorDate: Tue, 18 Sep 2018 16:08:56 -0700
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Mon, 8 Oct 2018 10:41:09 +0200

x86/fsgsbase/64: Factor out FS/GS segment loading from __switch_to()

Instead of open coding the calls to load_seg_legacy(), introduce
x86_fsgsbase_load() to load FS/GS segments.

This makes it more explicit that this is part of FSGSBASE functionality,
and the new helper can be updated when FSGSBASE instructions are enabled.

[ mingo: Wrote new changelog. ]

Signed-off-by: Chang S. Bae <chang.seok.bae@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Reviewed-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
Cc: H. Peter Anvin <hpa@zytor.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Markus T Metzger <markus.t.metzger@intel.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Ravi Shankar <ravi.v.shankar@intel.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1537312139-5580-6-git-send-email-chang.seok.bae@intel.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c | 14 ++++++++++----
1 file changed, 10 insertions(+), 4 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c b/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
index e5fb0c3dee4d..d6674a425714 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/process_64.c
@@ -287,6 +287,15 @@ static __always_inline void load_seg_legacy(unsigned short prev_index,
}
}

+static __always_inline void x86_fsgsbase_load(struct thread_struct *prev,
+ struct thread_struct *next)
+{
+ load_seg_legacy(prev->fsindex, prev->fsbase,
+ next->fsindex, next->fsbase, FS);
+ load_seg_legacy(prev->gsindex, prev->gsbase,
+ next->gsindex, next->gsbase, GS);
+}
+
static unsigned long x86_fsgsbase_read_task(struct task_struct *task,
unsigned short selector)
{
@@ -597,10 +606,7 @@ __switch_to(struct task_struct *prev_p, struct task_struct *next_p)
if (unlikely(next->ds | prev->ds))
loadsegment(ds, next->ds);

- load_seg_legacy(prev->fsindex, prev->fsbase,
- next->fsindex, next->fsbase, FS);
- load_seg_legacy(prev->gsindex, prev->gsbase,
- next->gsindex, next->gsbase, GS);
+ x86_fsgsbase_load(prev, next);

switch_fpu_finish(next_fpu, cpu);

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-08 11:58    [W:0.098 / U:3.844 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site