lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH bpf-next] libbpf: relicense libbpf as LGPL-2.1 OR BSD-2-Clause
On Mon, 8 Oct 2018 10:15:10 +0200
Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net> wrote:

> On 10/05/2018 11:24 PM, Alexei Starovoitov wrote:
> > libbpf is maturing as a library and gaining features that no other bpf libraries support
> > (BPF Type Format, bpf to bpf calls, etc)
> > Many Apache2 licensed projects (like bcc, bpftrace, gobpf, cilium, etc)
> > would like to use libbpf, but cannot do this yet, since Apache Foundation explicitly
> > states that LGPL is incompatible with Apache2.
> > Hence let's relicense libbpf as dual license LGPL-2.1 or BSD-2-Clause,
> > since BSD-2 is compatible with Apache2.
> > Dual LGPL or Apache2 is invalid combination.
> > Fix license mistake in Makefile as well.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>
> > Acked-by: Andrey Ignatov <rdna@fb.com>
> > Acked-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@kernel.org>
> > Acked-by: Björn Töpel <bjorn.topel@intel.com>
> > Acked-by: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
> > Acked-by: David Beckett <david.beckett@netronome.com>
> > Acked-by: Jakub Kicinski <jakub.kicinski@netronome.com>
> > Acked-by: Joe Stringer <joe@ovn.org>
> > Acked-by: John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>
> > Acked-by: Martin KaFai Lau <kafai@fb.com>
> > Acked-by: Quentin Monnet <quentin.monnet@netronome.com>
> > Acked-by: Thomas Graf <tgraf@suug.ch>
> > Acked-by: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>
> > Acked-by: Wang Nan <wangnan0@huawei.com>
> > Acked-by: Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>
>
> Applied to bpf-next, thanks!

For the public record:
Acked-by: Jesper Dangaard Brouer <brouer@redhat.com>

I do know, this ack will not reach the git-log, but given I have code
in the lib, I want to show that I support and ack this re-license.

--
Best regards,
Jesper Dangaard Brouer
MSc.CS, Principal Kernel Engineer at Red Hat
LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/brouer

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-08 11:13    [W:0.076 / U:1.384 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site