lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [8]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 4.18 125/168] sched/topology: Set correct NUMA topology type
Date
4.18-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>

[ Upstream commit e5e96fafd9028b1478b165db78c52d981c14f471 ]

With the following commit:

051f3ca02e46 ("sched/topology: Introduce NUMA identity node sched domain")

the scheduler introduced a new NUMA level. However this leads to the NUMA topology
on 2 node systems to not be marked as NUMA_DIRECT anymore.

After this commit, it gets reported as NUMA_BACKPLANE, because
sched_domains_numa_level is now 2 on 2 node systems.

Fix this by allowing setting systems that have up to 2 NUMA levels as
NUMA_DIRECT.

While here remove code that assumes that level can be 0.

Signed-off-by: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andre Wild <wild@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@surriel.com>
Cc: Suravee Suthikulpanit <suravee.suthikulpanit@amd.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: linuxppc-dev <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>
Fixes: 051f3ca02e46 "Introduce NUMA identity node sched domain"
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1533920419-17410-1-git-send-email-srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <alexander.levin@microsoft.com>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
---
kernel/sched/topology.c | 5 +----
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 4 deletions(-)

--- a/kernel/sched/topology.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/topology.c
@@ -1295,7 +1295,7 @@ static void init_numa_topology_type(void

n = sched_max_numa_distance;

- if (sched_domains_numa_levels <= 1) {
+ if (sched_domains_numa_levels <= 2) {
sched_numa_topology_type = NUMA_DIRECT;
return;
}
@@ -1380,9 +1380,6 @@ void sched_init_numa(void)
break;
}

- if (!level)
- return;
-
/*
* 'level' contains the number of unique distances
*

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-08 20:58    [W:0.486 / U:2.992 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site