lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [5]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/vdso] x86/time: Implement clocksource_arch_init()
Commit-ID:  2a21ad571b62440a4ad66d70b4b5d09c00029af4
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/2a21ad571b62440a4ad66d70b4b5d09c00029af4
Author: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
AuthorDate: Mon, 17 Sep 2018 14:45:35 +0200
Committer: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CommitDate: Thu, 4 Oct 2018 23:00:24 +0200

x86/time: Implement clocksource_arch_init()

Runtime validate the VCLOCK_MODE in clocksource::archdata and disable
VCLOCK if invalid, which disables the VDSO but keeps the system running.

Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Acked-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Matt Rickard <matt@softrans.com.au>
Cc: Stephen Boyd <sboyd@kernel.org>
Cc: John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>
Cc: Florian Weimer <fweimer@redhat.com>
Cc: "K. Y. Srinivasan" <kys@microsoft.com>
Cc: Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>
Cc: devel@linuxdriverproject.org
Cc: virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org
Cc: Paolo Bonzini <pbonzini@redhat.com>
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Link: https://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180917130707.069167446@linutronix.de

---
arch/x86/Kconfig | 1 +
arch/x86/kernel/time.c | 16 ++++++++++++++++
2 files changed, 17 insertions(+)

diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index 1a0be022f91d..adc8c96df914 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -48,6 +48,7 @@ config X86
select ACPI_SYSTEM_POWER_STATES_SUPPORT if ACPI
select ANON_INODES
select ARCH_CLOCKSOURCE_DATA
+ select ARCH_CLOCKSOURCE_INIT
select ARCH_DISCARD_MEMBLOCK
select ARCH_HAS_ACPI_TABLE_UPGRADE if ACPI
select ARCH_HAS_DEBUG_VIRTUAL
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/time.c b/arch/x86/kernel/time.c
index be01328eb755..1fa632e0829f 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/time.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/time.c
@@ -10,6 +10,7 @@
*
*/

+#include <linux/clocksource.h>
#include <linux/clockchips.h>
#include <linux/interrupt.h>
#include <linux/irq.h>
@@ -105,3 +106,18 @@ void __init time_init(void)
{
late_time_init = x86_late_time_init;
}
+
+/*
+ * Sanity check the vdso related archdata content.
+ */
+void clocksource_arch_init(struct clocksource *cs)
+{
+ if (cs->archdata.vclock_mode == VCLOCK_NONE)
+ return;
+
+ if (cs->archdata.vclock_mode > VCLOCK_MAX) {
+ pr_warn("clocksource %s registered with invalid vclock_mode %d. Disabling vclock.\n",
+ cs->name, cs->archdata.vclock_mode);
+ cs->archdata.vclock_mode = VCLOCK_NONE;
+ }
+}
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-04 23:06    [W:0.208 / U:24.508 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site