lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [31]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
SubjectRe: [PATCH 10/17] prmem: documentation
From
Date
From: Andy Lutomirski
Sent: October 30, 2018 at 6:51:17 PM GMT
> To: Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org>, nadav.amit@gmail.com
> Cc: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>, Igor Stoppa <igor.stoppa@gmail.com>, Mimi Zohar <zohar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>, Dave Chinner <david@fromorbit.com>, James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>, Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>, Kernel Hardening <kernel-hardening@lists.openwall.com>, linux-integrity <linux-integrity@vger.kernel.org>, linux-security-module <linux-security-module@vger.kernel.org>, Igor Stoppa <igor.stoppa@huawei.com>, Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>, Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>, Laura Abbott <labbott@redhat.com>, Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>, Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>, open list:DOCUMENTATION <linux-doc@vger.kernel.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
> Subject: Re: [PATCH 10/17] prmem: documentation
>
>
>
>
>> On Oct 30, 2018, at 10:58 AM, Matthew Wilcox <willy@infradead.org> wrote:
>>
>> On Tue, Oct 30, 2018 at 10:06:51AM -0700, Andy Lutomirski wrote:
>>>> On Oct 30, 2018, at 9:37 AM, Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org> wrote:
>>> I support the addition of a rare-write mechanism to the upstream kernel.
>>> And I think that there is only one sane way to implement it: using an
>>> mm_struct. That mm_struct, just like any sane mm_struct, should only
>>> differ from init_mm in that it has extra mappings in the *user* region.
>>
>> I'd like to understand this approach a little better. In a syscall path,
>> we run with the user task's mm. What you're proposing is that when we
>> want to modify rare data, we switch to rare_mm which contains a
>> writable mapping to all the kernel data which is rare-write.
>>
>> So the API might look something like this:
>>
>> void *p = rare_alloc(...); /* writable pointer */
>> p->a = x;
>> q = rare_protect(p); /* read-only pointer */
>>
>> To subsequently modify q,
>>
>> p = rare_modify(q);
>> q->a = y;
>> rare_protect(p);
>
> How about:
>
> rare_write(&q->a, y);
>
> Or, for big writes:
>
> rare_write_copy(&q, local_q);
>
> This avoids a whole ton of issues. In practice, actually running with a
> special mm requires preemption disabled as well as some other stuff, which
> Nadav carefully dealt with.
>
> Also, can we maybe focus on getting something merged for statically
> allocated data first?
>
> Finally, one issue: rare_alloc() is going to utterly suck performance-wise
> due to the global IPI when the region gets zapped out of the direct map or
> otherwise made RO. This is the same issue that makes all existing XPO
> efforts so painful. We need to either optimize the crap out of it somehow
> or we need to make sure it’s not called except during rare events like
> device enumeration.
>
> Nadav, want to resubmit your series? IIRC the only thing wrong with it was
> that it was a big change and we wanted a simpler fix to backport. But
> that’s all done now, and I, at least, rather liked your code. :)

I guess since it was based on your ideas…

Anyhow, the only open issue that I have with v2 is Peter’s wish that I would
make kgdb use of poke_text() less disgusting. I still don’t know exactly
how to deal with it.

Perhaps it (fixing kgdb) can be postponed? In that case I can just resend
v2.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-31 00:19    [W:0.203 / U:0.024 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site