lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Oct]   [18]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
Date
From
Subject[tip:x86/urgent] x86/entry/32: Clear the CS high bits
Commit-ID:  04f4f954b69526d7af8ffb8e5780f08b8a6cda2d
Gitweb: https://git.kernel.org/tip/04f4f954b69526d7af8ffb8e5780f08b8a6cda2d
Author: Jan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@siemens.com>
AuthorDate: Mon, 15 Oct 2018 16:09:29 +0200
Committer: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CommitDate: Wed, 17 Oct 2018 12:30:20 +0200

x86/entry/32: Clear the CS high bits

Even if not on an entry stack, the CS's high bits must be
initialized because they are unconditionally evaluated in
PARANOID_EXIT_TO_KERNEL_MODE.

Failing to do so broke the boot on Galileo Gen2 and IOT2000 boards.

[ bp: Make the commit message tone passive and impartial. ]

Fixes: b92a165df17e ("x86/entry/32: Handle Entry from Kernel-Mode on Entry-Stack")
Signed-off-by: Jan Kiszka <jan.kiszka@siemens.com>
Signed-off-by: Borislav Petkov <bp@suse.de>
Reviewed-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>
Acked-by: Joerg Roedel <jroedel@suse.de>
CC: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
CC: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
CC: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
CC: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
CC: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
CC: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
CC: David Laight <David.Laight@aculab.com>
CC: Denys Vlasenko <dvlasenk@redhat.com>
CC: Eduardo Valentin <eduval@amazon.com>
CC: Greg KH <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
CC: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
CC: Josh Poimboeuf <jpoimboe@redhat.com>
CC: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
CC: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
CC: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
CC: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CC: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
CC: aliguori@amazon.com
CC: daniel.gruss@iaik.tugraz.at
CC: hughd@google.com
CC: keescook@google.com
CC: linux-mm <linux-mm@kvack.org>
CC: x86-ml <x86@kernel.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/f271c747-1714-5a5b-a71f-ae189a093b8d@siemens.com
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S | 13 +++++++------
1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 6 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S b/arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S
index 2767c625a52c..fbbf1ba57ec6 100644
--- a/arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S
+++ b/arch/x86/entry/entry_32.S
@@ -389,6 +389,13 @@
* that register for the time this macro runs
*/

+ /*
+ * The high bits of the CS dword (__csh) are used for
+ * CS_FROM_ENTRY_STACK and CS_FROM_USER_CR3. Clear them in case
+ * hardware didn't do this for us.
+ */
+ andl $(0x0000ffff), PT_CS(%esp)
+
/* Are we on the entry stack? Bail out if not! */
movl PER_CPU_VAR(cpu_entry_area), %ecx
addl $CPU_ENTRY_AREA_entry_stack + SIZEOF_entry_stack, %ecx
@@ -407,12 +414,6 @@
/* Load top of task-stack into %edi */
movl TSS_entry2task_stack(%edi), %edi

- /*
- * Clear unused upper bits of the dword containing the word-sized CS
- * slot in pt_regs in case hardware didn't clear it for us.
- */
- andl $(0x0000ffff), PT_CS(%esp)
-
/* Special case - entry from kernel mode via entry stack */
#ifdef CONFIG_VM86
movl PT_EFLAGS(%esp), %ecx # mix EFLAGS and CS
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-10-18 08:22    [W:0.160 / U:0.948 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site