lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jan]   [7]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [RFC PATCH 13/12] Retpoline vs. CONFIG_TRIM_UNUSED_SYMBOLS
Date
Please checkout patches for GCC 7:

https://github.com/hjl-tools/gcc/commits/hjl/indirect/gcc-7-branch/master

For GCC trunk:

https://github.com/hjl-tools/gcc/commits/hjl/indirect/master

H.J.

> -----Original Message-----
> From: David Woodhouse [mailto:dwmw2@infradead.org]
> Sent: Sunday, January 07, 2018 9:33 AM
> To: Lu, Hongjiu <hongjiu.lu@intel.com>; Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>;
> Van De Ven, Arjan <arjan.van.de.ven@intel.com>; Tsimbalist, Igor V
> <igor.v.tsimbalist@intel.com>
> Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>; LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>;
> Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>; Greg Kroah-Hartman
> <gregkh@linux-foundation.org>; Tim Chen <tim.c.chen@linux.intel.com>;
> Hansen, Dave <dave.hansen@intel.com>; tglx@linutronix.de; Kees Cook
> <keescook@google.com>; Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>; Peter Zijlstra
> <peterz@infradead.org>; Andy Lutomirski <luto@amacapital.net>; Jiri
> Kosina <jikos@kernel.org>; gnomes@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk
> Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 13/12] Retpoline vs.
> CONFIG_TRIM_UNUSED_SYMBOLS
>
> On Sun, 2018-01-07 at 15:09 +0000, Lu, Hongjiu wrote:
> > Sure, I can use __x86_indirect_thunk_rax.
>
> Great, thanks.
>
> I've made that change on top of your 20171219 patch set which is the
> latest I've seen, and pushed it to my tree at
> http://git.infradead.org/users/dwmw2/gcc-
> retpoline.git/shortlog/refs/heads/retpoline-20180107
>
> I assume you'll want to redo those patches so that it's
> __x86_indirect_thunk_rax from the start, rather than starting with dots
> and then changing it, but I'll let you deal with that and push it
> upstream. Building compiler now, and then I'll update and simplify the
> kernel patches accordingly.
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-01-14 23:16    [W:0.102 / U:0.672 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site