lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jan]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 3.18 20/52] x86/asm/32: Make sync_core() handle missing CPUID on all 32-bit kernels
Date
3.18-stable review patch.  If anyone has any objections, please let me know.

------------------

From: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>

commit 1c52d859cb2d417e7216d3e56bb7fea88444cec9 upstream.

We support various non-Intel CPUs that don't have the CPUID
instruction, so the M486 test was wrong. For now, fix it with a big
hammer: handle missing CPUID on all 32-bit CPUs.

Reported-by: One Thousand Gnomes <gnomes@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Signed-off-by: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Juergen Gross <jgross@suse.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>
Cc: Matthew Whitehead <tedheadster@gmail.com>
Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
Cc: Henrique de Moraes Holschuh <hmh@hmh.eng.br>
Cc: Andrew Cooper <andrew.cooper3@citrix.com>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
Cc: xen-devel <Xen-devel@lists.xen.org>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/685bd083a7c036f7769510b6846315b17d6ba71f.1481307769.git.luto@kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Signed-off-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>

---
arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h | 2 +-
1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)

--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
@@ -669,7 +669,7 @@ static inline void sync_core(void)
{
int tmp;

-#ifdef CONFIG_M486
+#ifdef CONFIG_X86_32
/*
* Do a CPUID if available, otherwise do a jump. The jump
* can conveniently enough be the jump around CPUID.

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-01-29 22:20    [W:0.182 / U:0.960 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site