lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Jan]   [29]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH for 4.16 v3 07/11] x86: Implement sync_core_before_usermode
Date
Ensure that a core serializing instruction is issued before returning to
user-mode. x86 implements return to user-space through sysexit, sysrel,
and sysretq, which are not core serializing.

Signed-off-by: Mathieu Desnoyers <mathieu.desnoyers@efficios.com>
Acked-by: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
CC: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
CC: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
CC: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
CC: Boqun Feng <boqun.feng@gmail.com>
CC: Andrew Hunter <ahh@google.com>
CC: Maged Michael <maged.michael@gmail.com>
CC: Avi Kivity <avi@scylladb.com>
CC: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
CC: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
CC: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
CC: Dave Watson <davejwatson@fb.com>
CC: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
CC: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
CC: Andrea Parri <parri.andrea@gmail.com>
CC: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
CC: Greg Hackmann <ghackmann@google.com>
CC: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
CC: David Sehr <sehr@google.com>
CC: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
CC: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
CC: x86@kernel.org
CC: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org
---
Changes since v1:
- Fix prototype of sync_core_before_usermode in generic code (missing
return type).
- Add linux/processor.h include to sched/core.c.
- Add ARCH_HAS_SYNC_CORE_BEFORE_USERMODE to init/Kconfig.
- Fix linux/processor.h ifdef to target
CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_SYNC_CORE_BEFORE_USERMODE rather than
ARCH_HAS_SYNC_CORE_BEFORE_USERMODE.
- Move empty static inline in processor.h to generic patch.

Changes since v2:
- Introduce arch/x86/include/asm/sync_core.h
- Don't sync_core when KPTI is enabled, and when invoked from irq and nmi
context.
- Note: v2 was reviewed by Thomas Gleixner, but changes were introduced
since.
---
arch/x86/Kconfig | 1 +
arch/x86/include/asm/sync_core.h | 28 ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
2 files changed, 29 insertions(+)
create mode 100644 arch/x86/include/asm/sync_core.h

diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index 20da391b5f32..0b44c8dd0e95 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -61,6 +61,7 @@ config X86
select ARCH_HAS_SG_CHAIN
select ARCH_HAS_STRICT_KERNEL_RWX
select ARCH_HAS_STRICT_MODULE_RWX
+ select ARCH_HAS_SYNC_CORE_BEFORE_USERMODE
select ARCH_HAS_UBSAN_SANITIZE_ALL
select ARCH_HAS_ZONE_DEVICE if X86_64
select ARCH_HAVE_NMI_SAFE_CMPXCHG
diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/sync_core.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/sync_core.h
new file mode 100644
index 000000000000..c67caafd3381
--- /dev/null
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/sync_core.h
@@ -0,0 +1,28 @@
+/* SPDX-License-Identifier: GPL-2.0 */
+#ifndef _ASM_X86_SYNC_CORE_H
+#define _ASM_X86_SYNC_CORE_H
+
+#include <linux/preempt.h>
+#include <asm/processor.h>
+#include <asm/cpufeature.h>
+
+/*
+ * Ensure that a core serializing instruction is issued before returning
+ * to user-mode. x86 implements return to user-space through sysexit,
+ * sysrel, and sysretq, which are not core serializing.
+ */
+static inline void sync_core_before_usermode(void)
+{
+ /* With PTI, we unconditionally serialize before running user code. */
+ if (static_cpu_has(X86_FEATURE_PTI))
+ return;
+ /*
+ * Return from interrupt and NMI is done through iret, which is core
+ * serializing.
+ */
+ if (in_irq() || in_nmi())
+ return;
+ sync_core();
+}
+
+#endif /* _ASM_X86_SYNC_CORE_H */
--
2.11.0
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-01-29 21:23    [W:0.211 / U:6.516 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site